jump to navigation

To gain or not to gain November 19, 2008

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

I’ve started worrying, for a change, about my weight. Now, I am in no way overweight. I weigh in at about 9 1/2 stone, and unfortunately always show as underweight on BMI scales. Which, to be honest, isn’t all that fair – I eat as much as I can, and I officially love food!

However, recently my physical activity has plummeted, and my eating has rocketed. I keep finding myself sat down with a chocolate bar, and before I know it the creamy, sweet substance has found its way into my over enthusiastic gullet. Now, my favourite trousers and dresses won’t do up around my rather wobbly belly, and although I’m a 10/12 size-wise, I cannot admit it. If nothing else, I don’t want to have to go out and buy a whole new collection of clothes.

I like my old and treasured collection, to which I gradually add quirky and day-to-day pieces, and with which I’m utterly familiar and comfortable. The idea of starting again, though perhaps appealing to my inner shopaholic, absolutely terrifies my bank balance.

I think the real reason that I am so worried about this, however, is because my shape has always been my fallback. Other people have great eyes, or beautiful hair. I have/had a great body, generally toned in the right places. This served to detract attention away from the flaws of which I hate to admit I am self-conscious. The crooked witch nose, the dark shadows under my eyes. The fact that my hair simply refuses to do what I tell it. A word of advice, never give your hair the free reign – it ain’t good!

So now I’m plumper than I was, and struggling to deal with this and my face. Amusing as that may sound. So, for the first time in my life, I am properly dieting. And I am vowing to exercise more, forcing poor Ben to partake in callanetics, and other such sporty activities.

Now I know that a lot of you will be reading this with a certain air of raised eyebrows – that look that says, sure, you may be worried, but you’ve got it great. But you need to understand that in a way, weight is relative. What can look great on one person will look obscene on another. What someone doesn’t care about can cripple someone else’s self-confidence. For me, this weight is crippling it, and it is made worse by knowing that it is my own paranoia, and no one else agrees.

I you see me some point soon, I could do with a hug.

Comments»

1. gildedfolly - November 19, 2008

**HUG**

I’m having the same problem. Though I’m not going about it in the most logical manner – skipping dinner in favour of half a jar of choc spread.

We should look into that salsa again though.

And incidentally, you have the most amazing eyes – I’ve never noticed bags under them and I always stare with envy at how beautiful they are. I’ve never noticed your nose being crooked and you have wonderful clear skin. Also, whenever I see you your hair seems to be behaving, and I’ve seen you first thing in the morning AND last thing at night! You’re gorgeous darling. xx

2. mysterycreature1 - November 20, 2008

Thats the sort of logic I have – feeling depressed about my wieght – why not eat 20 chocolate bars??!!

Thanks for the hug :)

3. T - November 20, 2008

virtual hug coming your way :) we all can do with hugs now and then – think peeps at work would talk if i tired to give u a hug.

4. mysterycreature1 - November 24, 2008

Thank you :) Virtual hugs are almost as god as real ones, hehe xx

5. Sarah - November 25, 2008

I sympathise as I have been drowning my sorrows in chocolate brownies of late and it’s in danger of becoming a habit! You could always try hypnotherapy though – I did and it was pretty cool. Have a hug anyway though.

6. Callanetics Books - October 31, 2009

In order to lose weight, it is required that your caloric intake decreases in direct proportion to the calories you burn during this exercise program.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

