jump to navigation

Pretty things April 8, 2009

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Crafting, Graphic Design.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

There is something incredibly satisfying about pretty things. Items can make your day – and they are even more likely to if they are lovely and beautiful to look at.

This is probably the reason I like vintage clothes – the time that has passed since they were originally made has a wonderful effect – it weathers then, it smooths their sharp edges. It turns a pretty item into a beautiful one, loaded with history and meaning. As the styles progress and change, the old styles become quaint, and are the beautiful setting upon which later fashion is built.

The same principle applies to chose – if they are pretty, I find myself falling head over heels in love, regardless of whether they fit, whether they are the right colour, whether I can afford them! If they have shimmery leather, beautiful ribbons, intricately decorative soles – then they must be mine. The lust is ignited by their prettiness, not their sensibility.

When I think about my future house, I think about rolled wood banisters, curtains of exquisite fabrics, a chaise longue in the corner. I dream of beautiful antiques, pretty pictures, bedding fitting for a queen. It is hard to live up to these dreams (when your house is a studio flat, kitted out in ikea, with barely room for two people, it gets kind of hard), but I keep them alive all the same.

You want to see my dream house, by the way? Here it is! It looks so much more exquisite than this in real life!

Picture 3

Luckily for me, the world is full of pretty things – anything can be lovely if you look at it right, and “things” are springing up left right and centre – such as this amazing site full of beautiful paper. This chef’s letter writing set is so cute – makes me desperately want a pen-pal – anyone up for it?!

Retro-chef Letter Set

Argh, life is too full of “I want”s at the moment – I must be good! Must not spend money!

Comments»

1. ElementalGrace - April 8, 2009

I’ve always thought that beautiful things make people feel better! God bless second hand stuff is all I have to say on the matter!

I do now have a slightly amusing mental image of you and Caroline doing ‘Ladies of letters’ :0)

2. Top Bird @ Wee Birdy - April 8, 2009

Well I clearly have a soft spot for pretty things. And Present & Correct are fab, aren’t they? xx

mysterycreature1 - April 9, 2009

They are fab, thanks to you for introducing it to me! xx

Sarah – pretty things are brilliant! Oh dear, what a worrying mental image, hehe xx


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

