jump to navigation

Giveaway – Vintage makeup case – END MAY 2009 April 20, 2009

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Giveaways/Offers, Vintage.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Well, it’s my first ever giveaway. It’s not a publicity stunt, although I am aware how many people (myself included, occasionally) google search “blog  giveaways”. It’s actually the case that I found a beautiful item at my local car boot sale, and simply couldn’t leave it behind. The problem is, I have no display space, so had to justify it to myself very hard! My final argument? If I buy it and give it away, I know someone with a penchant for pretty vintage items and with somewhere for it to go will have it!

vintage yardley makeup

yardely vintage makeup label

The item: A beautiful pale pink and white vintage make up tub from Yardley, originally a pale pink makeup base/foundation. The tub measure approx 7cm in diameter, and can be reused a cute blush pot or with top up foundations. If this is the case you will  need to clean it, as it has traces of the original makeup inside!

As you can see, the front of this lovely box has a raised bee, and is labeled Yardley London. Soo cute and very kitsch! The back still has the original instructions for applying the makeup!

I can’t work out if this beauty is Bakelite? It feels it, but to be honest it could be any type of vintage plastic.

An interesting item to convert into a working makeup pot – with the addition of a cheap compact mirror and a foundation top-up this could be reused!

Itf you want a chance of winning this item, leave me a comment – and it would be nice to know where/what you plan to do with it! Make sure to leave your email, or a link to your blog, otherwise I won’t be able to find you!

UPDATE: This competition is now closed – no more entries please :)

Comments»

1. Kerry Champagne - April 20, 2009

I love this, and I love your blog..will definately be keeping tabs on your blog!
Good luck!
Kerry Champagne

2. WhiteSockGirl - April 21, 2009

It is gorgeous and it is pink. Love pink. What will I do with it? I want to use it as part of fund raising for my organization. I have this idea of a ‘morning tea’ for the ladies in my town. Catch is, they have to bring at least two items that my organization can distribute amongst the children that we are working with. I will ask the ladies to bid on the makeup case. During that tea party I would then sell the makeup case to the highest bidder. The money will go towards the organization’s ‘education fund.’

3. Amy P. - April 21, 2009

oh this is so adorable would love to win this. I am in love with vintage stuff. so this would be perfect.

4. Cathy - April 21, 2009

This is so cool! I love vintage things anyway and often use them in my art. Perhaps I would do a collage inside. And I love insect stuff :P
Thank you and hello!

http://www.cathyhorner.com

5. casci ritchie - April 21, 2009

hi, saw your comp on queens of vintage forum and i guess im a bit old hat…iv never heard of a blog giveaway!
that compact would still loving on my art deco dressing table along with my peach ostritch feathers and beloved prince lps lol! bit of a mix and match!
if i was you-keep it!xx

6. allison schrade - April 22, 2009

I love to collect anything with a bee motif. I am a gardner and a florist and I had bees and flowers on everything I could! I think it could make a pretty place to put my watch next to my sink (and bee towels)

7. The Green Yak on Etsy - April 22, 2009

This is so cute! I actually am a fan of Yardley products, too :-D

This would be beautiful as a decorative item, I think, near the window.

8. Alexandra - April 22, 2009

This is adorable! I collect small boxes of all type, limoge china and vintage bone and silver and many others, and this would be a cute, kitchy addition to the collection.

9. Carolyn Barnett - April 23, 2009

The box is so cute.I bet the product is good too.

10. renee - April 23, 2009

I think, if I win, that I will put our adorable bee friend in a gift basket for my mom for Mother’s Day, with some gloves, a few small potted herbs, and perhaps a few Burt’s Bees products to go along with the bee theme!

11. Kimberly B - April 23, 2009

I would give this to my daughter as it reminds me of her style an dher name means honeybee.

Thanks for the giveaway.

12. Jacqueline in Atlanta - April 23, 2009

That is just delightful. I love vintage things and bees are one of my favorite things – bees, butterflies and dragonflies – all delightful little creatures.

Thanks for having the giveaway!

13. ryann - April 23, 2009

Very pretty! My bathroom has a vintage feel to it and I think the would be verty pretty displaye don a shelf.

14. Raelena - April 24, 2009

i think this would be great just for display or to put rings in or something like that

15. suzy - April 25, 2009

This is absolutely adorable!
I love vintage and I love makeup.
I think I would clean it really well and use it for my mineral makeup. How special to open up that precious lid every morning to get ready for another day!

16. pat - April 27, 2009

I love the vintage look

17. Aik - April 29, 2009

I want to put a BEST MOM NECKLACE in the makeup case as a gift for my mother!

18. Cynthia Shern - April 30, 2009

JeansandTs@hotmail.com
I’m sure you are aware of the newer makeup they call mineral makeup. It is wonderful stuff and most of it is loose powder. I would love to use this to hold mineral makeup foundation powder in my bedroom vanity area.

19. SANDY - May 1, 2009

adorable..plan on putting it on my dresser- its so pretty

20. Miranda - May 4, 2009

This is such a nice product

21. Lo - May 8, 2009

So cute – I would definately convert it to use!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

