jump to navigation

Happy Bank Holiday! May 25, 2009

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Family, Life, Chatter & Politics.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Happy Bank Holiday everyone! Summer is my favourite season not just because of the theoretical potential for sunny days, but because there are so many 4-day weeks! What more could you want?! (Aside from 3-day weeks, obviously!)

Anyway, this weekend was spent down at a family do of Ben’s. I spent the first day in a state of tense panic – he has thirty odd cousins (the majority of whom were al at this party!), whilst I have a grand total of three! I was so far outside my comfort zone that I couldn’t even see its walls in the distance! What an amazing thing to have such a huge family tree – and how strange it must seem to them for someone to just have a little happy nuclear family!

Thankfully they are all a little bit bonkers and very approachable, so soon enough (once a few glasses of pink of white dutch courage had been swallowed) I was chatting way happily. I cant say I remember all their names, but I know a few of them! Impressive eh?

The party was made all the better by a large bouncy castle slide. When I was little these slides started being quite regimented – we paid our 50p and were strictly allowed 3 slides, with no more than a minute at the top. It was lovely to be allowed to clamber up and slide down as many times (and in as many positions) as possible!

slide

Note: the PJ bottoms were to ensure Ben’s family didn’t get to know me too well that day!

Unfortunately for me, clumsiness and stupidity has a habit of following me around. A mere few hours into the night, I locked the car keys in the car. What followed was a lot of mocking (justifiably!!) and a discovery that together, 10 tipsy males can eventually get one pair of car-keys out of a locked car – as long as they have 2 wire coat-hangers. It was hilarious and I do believe I will never be forgotten – or live this one down!

car keys

Lots of male bonding!!

Thankfully, the weekend did have a more positive lasting memory – a dress for Richard’s wedding the week after our holiday.  I found a Ted Baker dress in a size 8 (a size 8 – haven’t fitted in one of those for years!) that fit like a dream, and cost a huge (not) 6 quid! I’m not putting a picture up, you’ll have to wait to see the full effect (with tan) in a couple of weeks time.

Comments»

1. ElementalGrace - May 25, 2009

Hee. Genuinely fab photos – you look like you’re having SO much fun (and I didn’t realise you were wearing PJs. Thought it was just a good look.)

And don’t feel too bad about the car keys. I did that once in a service station on the M6 and had to wait an hour for the AA to roll up and unlock it. I felt like a right idiot explaining to my friend’s Mum why I was late for his birthday!

2. mysterycreature1 - May 25, 2009

Hehe, glad I’m not the only one. We had called the AA, but the 10 burley men did it before they arrived, hehe. It was, I must admit, very amusing :)

3. piglet - May 25, 2009

Hi, thanks for your comment :)

That slide looks like so much freaking fun!
I’ve never been on an inflatable slide. How sad.

4. dreamsequins - May 26, 2009

What a fun weekend it seems you enjoyed! On the topic of bouncy castles: some coworkers and I were talking about them the other day. Apparently, they rent bouncy castles for weddings. Like bouncy churches for ceremonies. I can’t even imagine. On one hand this would be amazing. On the other hand, would everyone be literally bouncing up and down with joy during and after the ceremonY???

5. mysterycreature1 - May 27, 2009

Hi Piglet – the slide was great fun, I thoroughly enjoyed myself. It was like being a kid again!

Hi Dreamsequins – what a brilliant idea. I know Mark (bens cousin who supplied the slide) does weddings etc – he did the inflatables and Jades wedding! Never heard of a church though!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

