jump to navigation

To blog or not to blog? November 1, 2009

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Blogs, Depression, Life, Chatter & Politics.
Tags: , ,
trackback

I am feeling a bit strange about blogging. I get plenty of hits, but they are just people looking for images that are on my blog, with searches for “Geisha” currently hitting up in the area of 700 hits a day! I feel I am just yet another limp and vacuous voice pumping out nonsense that no one cares or wants to read about into the blogosphere.

I spend my days reading witty blogs, intelligent blogs, a huge number of brilliant blogs, all the while knowing that mine is just… not. Mine is average, dull, unexciting. Why carry on writing, when all yours are so much more wonderful.

I am sure this is just a funny mood I am having, a moment of paranoia, of low self-esteem.

But does anyone actually care if I write or don’t write, if I choose to blog or not to blog? I think not.

 

 

Comments»

1. MissMatilda - November 1, 2009

I must admit I love blogspot and read those blogs more, but have added you to my follow lists right now so can see all your new things and read them as you scribe xx

2. Andrea - November 1, 2009

Maybe take a break for a few days and see how you feel about it then?

3. Caroline - November 1, 2009

I’m really not that interested in your images, I like your written posts…

…but then I’m just another vacuous voice in the blogosphere too. I think, like so many things in life, you’ve gotta do it for yourself, not for everyone else. If you’re doing it cos it makes you happy, it won’t matter!

(P.S. Please keep writing! xx)

4. Ashe Mischief - November 1, 2009

It’s probably something that goes without saying, but do it for yourself, doll! Don’t worry about comparing yourself to other bloggers, otherwise you’ll drive yourself crazy. We all have our moments of doubt & self-consciousness….but try to remember why you started blogging in the first place. Take some time off, etc.

5. ElementalGrace - November 1, 2009

D’you know what, I feel the same sometimes, especially when there’s no-one around to read or reply. BUT my blog was a way for me to chronicle my new life and the things I am doing with my life and my house and so partly it’s for me too. I know that there are by and large 3 people who actually bother to visit my website, but hey … what does that really matter?

And the other thing is that if I hadn’t ‘met’ you through Caroline’s blog and started reading yours, I wouldn’t have found you so engaging, articulate and erudite on any number of contemporary issues and fel compelled to comment on your blog and doubtless would have missed out on any number of inspirational ideas that I get from reading about people’s everyday lives. The minutiae of life is what connects us and keeps our lives real and grounded. It can affect us far more than we ever realise. What you think might be rubbish might make a world of difference to someone who reads it – they might never comment but it doesn’t mean that your words didn’t affect them in some way.

So, what I’m saying in my roundabout way is – please carry on.

6. Diana - November 1, 2009

I do enjoy your blog posts, and I apologize for not commenting more often – I didn’t realize how crazy life gets when you start working forty hours a week.
If you enjoy blogging, then keep doing it. But if you feel like it has become a chore, and it doesn’t make you happy, then stop.
If you need, take a break for awhile. We’ve all been there at one point or another.

7. Fleur - November 1, 2009

Well if you didn’t blog then you wouldn’t get Important People asking you to blog for them! I think that Blogger blogs are more likely to be surfed onto ‘accidentally’ as Google looks after its own, but it seems you’re doing pretty well for hits by yourself!

8. Toni - November 2, 2009

You have the balls to do posts that I’ve always wanted to write. I love reading your musings, and I’m really not bothered about the fashion stuff. Your blog has become witty, fun and involving – and that’s it needs, and for you to enjoy it, of course. You’re one of the few bloggers I take time to ensure I never miss a post on.

We all go through phases when we can’t be bothered or don’t see the point (my current said phase is about four months old now…) but you do have a readership, and that’s for a reason. Stick around, please? :)

9. Toni - November 2, 2009

Cos, clearly, I need to learn from you in terms of proofreading and MAKING SENSE.

The general overtone of the comment however is “please stay, Lauren, you’re brilliant at what you do”. I’ll blame the crap I actually wrote on Mondayitis.

10. Beads - November 2, 2009

I am going to keep it simple, as I come here to read what you write not what I write. DON’T STOP… please.

11. Grethic - November 2, 2009

Keep it up! (simple message)

12. Nikki - November 2, 2009

I would care! I feel exactly the same sometimes, so I know what you mean, but you should not give up – you’re one of the good ones!

13. annie - November 6, 2009

Don’t stop blogging its fascinating, and anyway 700 hits on geisha means something is going on out there that we know nothing about. Intriguing!

14. wardrobemag - November 13, 2009

We all feel like that at times cos as a writer it makes you start to doubt yourself whether you are any good or not! But like everyone else has said if you enjoy doing it then carry on. A lot of people including myself like to read it!

I can totally understand though. At Wardrobe Mag we get lots of hits but not many comments which makes you start to think that maybe our posts aren’t interesting or that anyone cares! But at the end of the day we know there are people out there who do care/comment/like to read and we get asked to do lots of exciting stuff!

I hope you carry on with it :)

Sunny

http://wardrobemag.wordpress.com/


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

