jump to navigation

Getting Crafty – Dress Making February 7, 2010

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Crafting, Fashion, Thrifting.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Whilst there are certain patterns that I love, I don’t really ever make clothes from patterns. The main reason for this is that fabric is very expensive now, and I find it easier and more affordable to buy ready-made items from shops and stalls. What I do like to do, however, is take any opportunity I can find to convert an item of clothing that is old, unloved and out of date into something modern and spectacular. This is cheap, generally, as well as saving things from ending up on a rubbish dump.

Today I decided I was going to turn a horribly shaped 80’s dress into something that suited my body shape a lot more. To begin, off came the baggy loose top, and I hemmed it up. The skirt, which is gorgeous and pleated, was then converted into a dress by carefully stitching on a ribbon, and then adding a flat panel into the back. As I thought, the pleats mean the top section expands and thus bunches, so next week I will probably replace it with a white bust.

Anyway, what do you think?

Hand made pleated dress

Hand made Pleated Dress

Comments»

1. disturbthenorm - February 7, 2010

oh wow ! I love how you re-created this dress! I’m somewhat also known for taking inexpensive plain clothing and changing it into something very chic ; )

So please check out my blog as well ! electricwave.wordpress.com
thanks, and I can’t wait to read some more of your blogs (:


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

