jump to navigation

Crafting In London February 14, 2010

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Crafting, Inspiration, Life, Chatter & Politics.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

This saturday, my 3 year anniversary with Ben, was spent on a crafty trip dow to London with Cie, Kate and Alysa, my girls from Sew Make Believe. The trip was an inspiration cum shopping day, and we followed a strict itinerary to make sure we went around all the place we wanted to. Stops on the trip included Cath Kidson, which was a little overpowering but full of great ideas and wonderful staff, The Button Queen, Make Lounge and more. I really enjoyed it, and treated myself to three cute little Jemima Puddleduck button – I am definitely the last of the big spenders. I also got a present for someone – but I can’t give that away on here!

We had lunch at Paul Rothe and Son in London Marylebone. This is worth mention because it was a little gem of a find, and is a good idea for anyone who is looking for an affordable yet quality café in the Marylebone area. This is half delicatessen, half english teashop and half American diner. Yup, it was made of three halves! They were friendly and well-priced inside (about £3 for a sandwich, which definitely isn’t steep by London standards), and they made me the perfect bacon sarnie. A bacon sarnie is a work of art, and this one hit the nail on the head – crispy juicy bacon, a decent slathering of butter, and really tasty fluffy white bread. Wonderful!

Our shopping was followed by my anniversary present – a wonderful afternoon tea for two at Harrods! Having ogled the expensive kittens in the pet area, and wandered around looking at the peculiar costumes that they have for pampered pooches, we retreated to the Georgian Restaurant for our hour of indulgence! Cute sandwiches were followed by delicious featherweight scones, and then a round of teeny little cakes – all whilst a pianist plinked and plonked in the background. It was lovely!

I wasn’t organised enough to take any pictures of the goodies, but you will have to talk my word for it that it was lovely!

Ben also got me these roses for Valentines day – which was very naughty as I thought we weren’t doing anything, what with out anniversary being yesterday!

Comments»

1. Man Hands Lizzie - February 15, 2010

Hello there. :) I found your blog from another blog (which, I can no longer remember), and I’m glad I did. Your blog name really caught my attention. I like it and it tells me so much about you. Anyways, I’m happy you had a great Valentine’s day.

2. Alysa - February 15, 2010

Your anniversary present sounds lovely! Were the kittens real??? I second the good review of the lunch cafe – very impressive that they tailored the amount of ketchup you wanted :) As a fussy old so and so that’s exactly the sort of service I like


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

