jump to navigation

Getting a little Political – But it is worth watching! May 4, 2010

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Inspiration, Life, Chatter & Politics, Media, TV & Film.
trackback

I am never normally all that political on my blog. I don’t like the confrontation it brings, and I know that my views are often much stronger and quite different to may of the people whom I otherwise love or respect. And so, with that in mind, I sit quietly, and only talk about politics if someone asks me explicitly, or if David Cameron is on the TV and I simply can’t avoid ranting.

I am, you see, very left-wing. I was brought up by satisfyingly hippy parents, and that left me with a legacy of believing that money doesn’t make any more of a person. It doesn’t make you any less of a person, either, although I will always have more respect for people who clawed themselves up from the bottom than I will for those who never wanted for anything. I watched my family recover from the damage the Conservatives did to the country, and I have a deep ingrained fear of people who deep down discriminate and judge  ruling my country.

At the same time, however, I understand people who have problems with Labour. I understand people who can’t see past the mistakes, who can’t see the successes that were never over-discussed. Many times I have had no idea who I would vote for were there an election, people seemed to have lost their way and I struggled to see a way out of all the negativity.

Then this speech happened, and all the news stations seemed to report was the protester who interrupted it. There I was, watching this great speech with this impassioned Gordon Brown – the old one, the passionate angry one, whose beliefs I respected and trusted. A Gordon Brown we haven’t seen in a while. Whilst I was watching that, everyone else was being told about the interruption. I got angry that people weren’t being shown both sides of that speech.

And so, and so, I thought I would share it with you guys. So that you can watch the speech, and see what it was really like. And make up your own minds, rather than having your minds made up for you.

Its worth watching!

Comments»

1. annie - May 8, 2010

thank you Lauren. What a fantastic impassioned speech. Why didn’t we see more like that in the run up to the election. But even more why do people insist on voting against their own interests. A vote for change is moronic, don’t people get that there is good and bad change. I dread to think what will happen in the next few years as society is demolished once again around our years. Yes I remember the thatcher years with disgust, i always hoped that people would never go that way again. But ho hum people like to hurt themselves and not accept their responsibilities so here we go years of sorrow ahead. ok rant over


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

