jump to navigation

A Really Yummy Tomato Lunch May 20, 2010

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Foodiness.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

beef tomatoes, tomato lunch

I had the most wonderful night out with the SMB girls last night. It was a social, and this essentially means that we meet up at the pub and gibber away for hours on end. Despite the fact that there were lots of lovely new members we still all managed to chat pretty much non-stop the entire time we were there, covering such diverse topics as online dating and the translation of literature to film. It was great, and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Anyway, I thought today that I would share with you one of the yummiest creations I have made in the past few weeks. I didn’t get a photo of it as I ate it all far too fast for that, but believe me when I say it was ultra yummy! It was a oven-roasted beef tomato (with a twist!) served with cous cous, and I could see it becoming a major cupboard staple.

To make your own:

Cut the top off a large beef tomato, ensuring to remove any chewy green bits in the centre – I essentially chopped out the centre lump. Cut a clove of garlic into 2 or 3 pieces, and push these into the flesh fo the tomato, spacing it out evening. Pour a generous amount of olive oil and balsamic vinegar into the tomato – don’t worry about it being spread out evening, it never happens! Then simply sprinkle basic, unground sea salt and lots of pepper over the top! Put in a pre-heated oven and cook until it is starting to sink onto the tray.

I served mine with cous cous, to which I had added a cheeky knob of butter and a heaped teaspoon full of pesto (plus salt and pepper of course). It was gorgeous – try it and you will see!

There is something about the sweet and delicious simplicity of tomatoes in the summer that just keeps bringing me back for more!

Comments»

1. Tes - May 20, 2010

This is a yummy healthy lunch. It’s so fresh and simple. I would try this recipe.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

