jump to navigation

The wonder of boy hugs June 10, 2010

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Advice, Life, Chatter & Politics.
Tags: , , ,
trackback
two cats having a hug

The world's cutest hugging cats!

(image from here)

Hugs of all descriptions are one of the most healing acts that I think there are in the world. I am not talking about the little meaningless hugs that you get on a day-to-day basis, but those hugs where people fully envelop you in their arms, acting as if by enclosing you within the circle of their grip they can keep all of the bad things in the world at bay. As soon as you are swaddled in a proper and true hug you feel safe, sound, protected, and like all of the dark shadows creeping around the edges of your life are being held at bay, unable to sneak any closer.

Whilst hugs like this from anyone are brilliant, I find that noone gives better hugs than boys. Nothing silly or inappropriate involved, I mean true honest hugs from a boy that you know. It must be because generally they are bigger and a bit stronger, but if you want a hug that makes you feel safe, then a boy is most likely to be able to deliver on the challenge.

Don’t get me wrong. This isn’t some anti-feminist stance, an “I’m only a weak little woman” position – it is just where the physical difference between the genders can be used to make someone feel utterly secure, and to stop them worrying.

Whilst life may be on the up, I still feel I need a real bone-crushing soul-saving hug from a boy to set me on the right path.

Comments»

1. Caroline - June 10, 2010

Sorry, am neither a boy, nor in the position to loan one… but I do know *exactly* what you mean. In fact, I befriended my mate James in freshers week 10 years ago now because, at over 6 foot, his hugs felt like my Dad’s! It was a comfort thing!

2. Carys - June 10, 2010

See, my Dad is too darn short to give proper “I’m safe” hugs, bless him!

I don’t think I could live without hugs, they have such a restorative power, I think. They make you feel better after a long day, feel warm when it’s cold, feel welcome….they don’t have to be boyfriend/husband/fiance/love life related – the hugs from my friends and family matter just as much.

I do know exactly what you mean though. It’s all about the nook with boys, the safety of nuzzling into their chest!

3. Helen - June 10, 2010

I am with you all the way on this!

I am fortunate to have a small collection of friends that really can give the ultimate hug! Jsuta shame I can’t carry them around in my handbag for emergencies!

But for me the ultimate hug comes from the most important man in my life………my Dad!

4. Louise - June 10, 2010

A few years back I did a counselling course where I found out that humans actually NEED hugs for their well being. It’s not even an affection thing but is a psychological nurture type thing. Nothing girly or anti feminist about it whatsoever.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

