jump to navigation

Hmm… On Berlin, and on feeling lost October 14, 2010

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Blogs, Graphic Design, Life, Chatter & Politics, Photos.
trackback

Well, I am back from Berlin. It is an amazing place – a chaotic mix of gleaming new building, and crumbling sixties monstrosities. A combination of historical respect, and a powerful belief in the future. A place on one side battered to within an inch of its life, yet at the same time a place that refuses to be repressed. Berlin is, in essence, a city of two halves, only now there isn’t a wall to separate them.

Whilst the history of Berlin is, undoubtedly, terrible, it has clearly had a dramatic effect upon the outlook and attitudes of people who live there today. All around this inelegant place are memories – whether they are expressed in a huge concrete sculpture 5 acres big, or in a tiny piece of street art no bigger than your hand. They have chosen to accept the past, and learn from it – a recognition that is apparent in everything and in the way they treat and accept people in the modern world. This liberal nature, this thriving underground scene, is part of what made me enjoy this city so much, and is a major component in calling me back.

With no further ado, let me share some photos…

 

Graffiti on the Berlin Wall at the East Side Gallery

Graffiti on the Berlin Wall at the East Side Gallery

 

 

Isn't she gorgeous?! Famous Berlin Streetart

Isn't she gorgeous?! Famous Berlin Streetart

 

 

The contrast between different Berlin architecture - old vs. new

The contrast between different Berlin architecture - old vs. new

 

 

Lauren at the Berlin Jewish Memorial

Lauren at the Berlin Jewish Memorial

 

As for the blog, I seem to have been neglecting it as of late. I am writing my portfolio and stuff, but at the same time I just don’t really have much to say currently. I keep catching myself wishing that this blog was a little more focused – with perhaps a set topic or structure, and less mindless ramblings of a lightly disconnected mind.

What do you guys think? Is it worth carrying on blogging, or should I branch out into a new space? I’m just feeling a little lost…

Comments»

1. Amber - October 14, 2010

Berlin isn’t a place I’ve ever really considered visiting, but I’ve been looking at your photos on Facebook, and you’ve totally changed my mind: it really looks fascinating, I’m so glad you had a good trip.

As for the blogging thing, I know what you mean: I constantly have the same issues with Forever Amber – I feel like a personal blog is so difficult to keep going because it’s so unfocused, but I always worry I’ll alienate the readers I have if I try to change the direction of it, so it’s hard. For what it’s worth, I would really miss you if you stopped blogging altogether so I will selfishly urge you to continue, whether here or somewhere else, if you feel you need a change.

2. Selina - October 15, 2010

I second Amber – I’d miss you if you stopped blogging. I look forward to the ramblings of your lightly disconnected mind!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

