jump to navigation

A Veritable Bag Of Treats October 24, 2010

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Foodiness.
trackback

I spent a lovely day today with the wonderful Lysy, baking cakes and listening to the levellers, we me wiggling my way somewhat awfully around the kitchen in time with the music. We made cupcakes, which went rather flat. In fact, when warm, the mix tasted more like a sweet chocolate batter than cake mix, which was odd but not entirely unpleasant. Anyway, the deep brown and the flatness actually worked well when it came to decorating them – providing a blank canvas that was more than  little reminiscent of the bare earth of a freshly dug grave…

This, by the way, was good thanks to the fact that, a week early, I was having fun with my new book, “A Zombie Ate My Cupcake” . The Halloween themed cakes are, quite frankly, awesome, and it is simply the best pressie I have had in ages!

The results? A rather painful vampire bite oozing raspberry flavoured blood…

Vampire Bite Cupcakes

A pain in the neck...

Vampire Bite Cupcakes

Vampires suck...

And a ghastly ghoul gliding towards you across that upturned graveyard dirt…

Wailing Ghost Cupcake

Ooooooooohhhh.....

Wailing Ghost Cupcake

I'll make a ghost of him that lets me...

Comments»

1. Louise - October 24, 2010

Lol, I love the ghoul… how did you get him to stand up like that?

Lauren Cooke - October 24, 2010

Meringue icing, over a secret hidden middle – in my case half a milkyway as I didn’t have any mig marshmallows!

2. Lysy - October 25, 2010

They look amazing!!! I love the ghostie’s expression :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

