jump to navigation

Living an Adventure November 28, 2010

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Dreams, Inspiration, Life, Chatter & Politics.
trackback

One of my main worries in life is that I will float through it, without ever actually getting around to do any of the things I want to do. I grew up with amazing parents, telling me tales of getting appendicitis under bushes in the Ukraine, or missing getting a train destined to be bombed in Iraq. Tails of hippy hysteria, tomato picking, 3 course meals at the end of lines of vines in France. They are so full of stories, have done so much, that I know I would be so incredibly disappointed in myself were I to never get around to creating my own life stories to tell my own kids one day down the line.

It is so easy, you see, to settle. To get used to the comfort of a familiar job. To push your adventures further and further away, until you never get around to living them at all. To sit in the warm and read books rather than get things wrong, make mistakes, and live dangerously.

Thinking about this recently has resulted in a number of aims. I want to go to London, work in fashion, and have a bit of an adventure. I know I can always come back to Leamington, the place that has somehow become home. I am planning to go travelling next year – and currently am thinking of going to the US, Australia, and New Zealand, as I have friends in all. I want to learn new skills – and so in the new year I will be taking up pole dancing with Helen, and considering learning Swedish just for the hell of it. I am going to train myself in Photoshop and web design, and consider doing some graphic design, as I have always wanted to.

My new years resolution, no matter how early, is to have at least one bona-fide adventure by the end of the year. Simples!

Comments»

1. Elementalgrace - November 28, 2010

I’m exactly the same. Luckily enough for me, I think my life conspires with the universe so that wherever I go and whatever I do, it’s NEVER dull. Often insane, regularly frustrating but never ever dull.

I think that if you’re open to adventures and crazy ideas, they tend to find you.

I don’t think I’ll ever be a 9-5er (not that there’s anything wrong with that, if that’s who you are) but I don’t think I’ll ever be short of a tale to tell in my old age either :)

Good luck in your adventuring.

2. Annie - December 1, 2010

Well isn’t that odd. I look at your life and am amazed by the way you seem to be making it up as you go along with your blogging and posts, it seems like a total adventure to me. I don’t think you have to travel to have an amazing life, you just have to be wide open to whatever life puts your way, always ready to grab what’s out there. My theory is that life is about happiness and providing you don’t hurt anyone else that’s a good way to make decisions eg does it make me happy, in that case it seems a good thing to do. Annie

3. Selina - December 17, 2010

Can’t wait to see you in New Zealand!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

