jump to navigation

Frugal February February 1, 2011

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Life, Chatter & Politics, Meme, Travel.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

As you no doubt know, I am on a budget at the moment. I am saving about half of my wages every month for my RTW trip,  and anything left over is going towards the RTW things that I can book in advance. It means that spending freely and treating myself has kind of gone out of the window. In fact, I am selling my shoes, so you know that something must be serious!

So, what better timing could there be to partake in “Frugal February”? The brainchild of wonderful blogger Gemma Cartwright, Frugal February is a month of avoiding buying anything that you don’t actually need. Shoes, expensive meals, luxury items and so forth are all banished to the land of no return, and instead we are all concentrating on saving money and only buying that which can really be justified.

Thankfully the rules are somewhat flexible. For example, I am allowed to justify nights out at the pub with friends as things I “need”, because without them life would just be miserable. The rules as explained by our fearless leader are as such:

This means buying no clothes, shoes, accessories, makeup, cosmetics, books, DVDs, music, magazines, gadgets etc for a month.

Food and drink don’t count, though it’s worth paying attention to unnecessary expenses in this area – do you really need that bottle of wine? Do you have stuff in the cupboard you could use to make dinner, rather than getting convenience food? I also suggest banning takeaways and any unnecessary eating out if you’re really serious!

Daily use items such as toothpaste, deodorant, shampoo etc are fine to buy, but only if you’ve run out completely! Same goes for any makeup you might ‘finish’ during the month. On the off-chance you use up the last dregs of your only foundation during the month, you can replace it, but only if you don’t have an alternative.

Frugal Feb doesn’t mean waving goodbye to a social life. Though you may choose to cut down on nights out to save a bit more cash, my time spent with friends is important to me! My Frugal February ‘no spend’ rule doesn’t include things like the occasional ticket or cover charge, or travel expenses. If I want to go somewhere and there’s a cost associated, that’s fine.

Are you going to take part?

 

Comments»

1. Emma Cossey - February 2, 2011

I’m so glad there’s a few of us doing this, easier to stick to it! It would be great to have one place for us all to share special offers (for eating out etc) or freebies though.

Hope frugalfebruary is going well for you so far!

Lauren Cooke - February 2, 2011

Sooo much easier to do with friends doing it too! It is kind of like having a gym buddy, I suppose!

Hmm, if only there was some way to set up a forum or something for tips and suggestions…

2. Caroline - February 2, 2011

It is a brilliant idea, and I’d usually jump at the chance… but there are things happening this month that I don’t want to miss out on – like the cotume sale at the RSC. So, no I won’t be participating THIS month…

3. Catie - February 2, 2011

I’d love to (and I need to!)….but I’m going to London on Saturday, going to see Chicago next weekend, then it’s my birthday so I’m having five days with The Boy, then I’m going to a gig, then I’m back to London for a massive vintage fair…..I feel like I’ve spent a grand already! Whoops. **REMIND ME NEXT YEAR!**


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

