jump to navigation

The many challenges of pets March 24, 2011

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Depression, Family.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Sometimes I feel like  don’t really have much of a heart. Some things that should simply don’t get to me – when my last rat died, it was a bit sad, but that was it. In the rest of my life, I rebel against sickly romance. I don’t see the magic in the Mona Lisa.

Then something will come along that makes me realise that sometimes, I care desperately. I will see something, generally in the most unexpected place, that speaks to me of such beauty. I will cry myself to sleep because a song is so magical. And when a pet I truly love is dying, I will find it hard to cope.

Muffin is my favourite rat. She has a fat belly, and bingo wings, and the softest curly cream hair. She likes to snuggle, and she will lick you out of affection. She is beautiful, and loving, and I love her. Now, however, she is dying. Under her arm she has a big tumour, and her mammary gland has been replaced with a huge pink tumour that has split. She smells of rotting, yet whenever I approach the cage she bounces up to the bars, licks my fingers just like before. Se tries to chew my jumper into a nest. She doesn’t act like something dying.

I don’t know what to do. Part of me thinks I should put her down, She is dragging an open wound underneath her, she smells like death. Yet can I make that decision? She stills seems so loving. I can’t do it and I don’t know what to do. It is heartbreaking. Who are we to play some semblance of god, of Kali? Do we have the right to take that away, make that decision?

Comments»

1. intheseheels - March 24, 2011

Oh Lauren, I’m so sorry to hear that. How long has the wound been open? Are you able to get some antiseptic for it? I am sure rats don’t feel pain any less than humans, but she’s just getting on with stuff, like you would if you had an illness. I think if she takes a real our for the worse, dont hesitate, cos you know she won’t get better. It may not be long. So give her a few more days, and enjoy the Snuggles and licks.
You certainly are not heartless. Showing love whilst people and animals are alive is what matters most, not about how hard you cry when they go. Xxx

2. kateohkatie - March 24, 2011

Poor baby – I’m so sorry!

Is she in a lot of pain? I would let her own level of comfort and happiness be the determining factor….

::hugs:: to you.

3. Jen - March 24, 2011

I’m so sorry to hear about your poor Muffin, when I had to take that same decision with my rat Lennon many years ago, I cried harder than I expected I would. It sounds to me that you love her dearly, therefore you will make your decision based on that love for her and it will be the right one for you both. Try sleeping on it x


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

