jump to navigation

The Power Of A Compliment May 13, 2011

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Inspiration, Life, Chatter & Politics.
Tags: , ,
trackback

I have written about the importance of a good compliment before. However, I feel it is a topic that needs reiterating, as often as is physically possible. Saying something nice to  someone, particularly when entirely unprovoked, can be the make or break between having a good day, or a bad one. It can make an average day into something special, and it can put a smile on even the most unlikely of faces.

Today, for instance, my day was brightened up pretty much from the moment I stepped from the house. I am wearing a simple Fever dress and a Sgt. Pepper jacket – I felt slightly pretty but no more. However, as I rounded the corner (concentrating wildly on remaining upright in my heels and navigating the angle without crashing into the wall) I bumped into a temporary local who I know only as “my builder”. He’s a nice chap – always chatty, a bit flirtatious but in the most obviously harmless way, just generally a good bloke who likes to tease me about being posh.

Today he seemed particularly chatty – he stopped me as I navigated the path to check how I was and what I had been up to. Then, completely without warning, he proceeded to ask me how I managed to get more beautiful every morning? How wonderful is that?!

Sometimes people can be quite wonderful. They seem to sense when you are starting to get self-conscious, when your self-esteem is teetering on the edge of a sheer drop, and the world can go one of two ways. It can kick you swiftly up the ass so that you plummet further, or it can choose to remind you just how fabulous life is really. In this case, a quick compliment reminded me that I at least look reasonable. I still feel a little overstatement was used by a guy looking to take me out for a drink – but I am really not going to complain.

Go forth and compliment!

Comments»

1. Selina - May 17, 2011

You are gorgeous!

I went out for dinner the other night, and as I was teetering up the road in my very high heels and very low cut dress a car full of youngish guys went past and they all yelled “PHWOAR” at me out the window. Well I tell you, I couldn’t wipe the grin off my face for the rest of the night!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

