jump to navigation

On painting and passion May 26, 2011

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Art, Family, Photos.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback
Peony Painting

Been paintin'

My mum has always said that I need a creative outlet. I need some form of self-expression that gets the gremlins out of my head, that pauses the whirring thoughts and ever-twisting cogs, letting me calm down, relax, stay as the me I know and love.

You see, I’m naturally quite a creative person, and yet at the same time I have a rather large side to my personality that is built on logic. The stubborn side, the realistic side, the part of me that doesn’t like getting carried away with my whimsical Piscean ways! The two sides, although obviously both pretty large components of my personality, can clash, and when that happens I can mentally work myself to the bone, with neither time to breathe nor recharge.

The only was to fix this fragile frame of mind is to make sure I give myself a release. I can do lots of exercise, I can write a story, or as was the case last night, I can sit up late into the night and paint until my heart’s content. Hence the painting above, a peony, for a particular someone in my life (who I doubt will mind it ending up on my blog first). And you know what? After sitting and painting until way past my bed time, I had the best nights sleep I have had in months.

It just goes to show – mothers are always right.

Comments»

1. Selina - May 28, 2011

Gorgeous – you have a wonderful talent there. I always wished I could paint or draw, but even stick figures are beyond me!

2. annie - May 30, 2011

absolutely always right sometimes

3. Elementalgrace - May 30, 2011

You know there are a small number of people who are neither right nor left brained and balancing logic with creativity is very difficult to achieve. When you find that balance though, you’ll find yourself all the more effective for it. It helps to think of it more as a sliding scale and less as a war though.

4. Frank Zweegers - June 1, 2011

Looks lovely!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

