jump to navigation

My life in books June 17, 2011

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Books, Inspiration.
Tags: , ,
trackback

I read Elle. In fact, I have a subscription. Aside from occasional gripes, I find it to be one of the only “fashion” mags that features intelligent and thought provoking writing, and so I keep on reading it month after month. There is one feature in particular that never fails to get me thinking, which is called (you guessed it!) “My Life In Books”.. and this is my version, about the books that changed my life.

The Lorax, Dr. Seuss.

If you had to take one book as an indicator of the person I would grow to be, it would be this. This is a conscientious moral tale in the format of a children’s story, a reminder to be careful – what we have needs care to continue.

Birdsong, Sebastian Faulks.

I read this book as an angsty deep and dark teenager. It has haunted me ever since, both as the simplest sweetest love story and as a representation of humanity at its most brutal.

His Dark Materials, Phillip Pullman.

A little part of me will always hold onto the world this trilogy created in the depths of my mind. I dream of worlds within worlds, of ghosts and love so strong it changes the fabric of your being. I dream of daemons. This book is, above all else, utterly formative and loved beyond compare.

Norwegian Wood, Haruki Murakami.

I like not talking. I like just sitting, touching, feeling the world go by and marvelling all the way. This book is just like this.. it is bitter and dark and twisted, but above all it is beautiful. All the misery and trouble are worth it in the end, and Murakami’s spectacular off-kilter style makes this a read it is difficult to forget.

Lolita, Vladimir Nabokov.

I have gone back to this dark and disturbing book again and again. The depth of the writing inspires me, the storyline is simply one of the best I have had the honour to read. Never judge, assume or claim to understand – books like this show us all the angles of humanity and the depravity and love it is capable of.

Comments»

1. Zoë - June 17, 2011

I love knowing which books mean something to people and reading them to see if you can understand why they liked those book. Apart from The Lorax, I have read and enjoyed all these books, well enjoyed because they were such good books, they are not necessarily cheery stories! Off to find a copy of The Lorax now, one of the advantages of working in a library!

2. Kate - June 24, 2011

All right, you’ve got me – I’d resisted the call of Philip Pullman thus far, but now I really want to give it a shot. I’ll also add Norwegian Wood to my queue :-)

Have you read The Children’s Book by A.S. Byatt? I think you might like it… I’m only about 300 pages in, but I’m already dreading the end (it’s hefty, at 900-ish pages). Truly one of the best books I’ve ever read.

Lauren Cooke - June 24, 2011

Yay! His Dark Materials is just wonderful, although if I am honest I don’t really rate any of his other books, though I know people who do. That Trilogy alone makes me an amazing author though, in my book!

I’ve never heard of The Children’s Book, shall have to look it up and give it a read – it might be a good option for the Kindle for when I go away! x


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

