jump to navigation

The Tipping Point July 4, 2011

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Depression, Life, Chatter & Politics.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Isn’t it funny how one little thing can tip you over the edge from happiness into something more akin to fear?

This morning, I was all excited about my trip. For the first time in a long time I was actually coming around to stop feeling petrified, and to feel anticipatory instead. The butterflies of terror in the pit of my stomach were becoming lighter by the day, my nerves were dancing rather than clamouring violently for attention. I was enjoying the 5-6 week count down, knowing that my trip was getting closer by the second.

Then I decided the time had come to do some of my chores. Namely to organise myself a credit card, so that I could buy things securely abroad. It was a simple job – go online, fill in the form, and get accepted. Except I didn’t get accepted, I got rejected, and that in combination with the cloying, sickly, sticky humidity has somehow managed to drop me straight into a seething pit of  grumpiness.

It is, in part, the endless certainty that something, anything, will go wrong and stop me from getting on my plane. It’s also triggered by a great number of other worries and gripes, leaving me in one of those tired, hot and headachey moods that cause everything in your brain to get all angry and jumbled.

To add insult to injury, I just bought a corset. It is gorgeous, red with a brocade pattern, and the workmanship is glorious. Despite all this though, it was too small on the waist (where I’ve put weight on recently) and far too big on the boobs. I tell you what – that does little for self-esteem when you’ve spent the entire week before it arrives wondering if you’ll look even vaguely good. So, with much regret, back it goes. That little thing on top of already feeling kind of crappy. That tipping point.

Bring on tomorrow – it had better beat the hell out of today.

Comments»

1. Selina McEntee - July 5, 2011

Awwwww honey. Big hugs. We’re super duper excited about seeing you in a couple of months! As for the credit card – can you try another bank? Or can you get one of them there debit card thingamees? I’m surprised you were turned down – I would’ve thought you’d be a prime candidate.

Lauren Cooke - July 5, 2011

Aw thanks hun :) I can’t wait ot see you guys too, it’s going to be awesome! And yeah, now I’m not quite so het up and stressed I’m going to try for another card – it just got to me yesterday! Big hugs!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

