jump to navigation

What to read? July 19, 2011

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Books.
trackback

Apologies if you’ve already read this, but it is a carbon copy of my Tumblr post – I thought you guys might be able to help!

I am currently trying to work out what books to take with me on my travels. I have a Kindle, so don’t need to worry about the weight, but Kindle books are pretty pricey and I don’t want to buy anything that I am likely to dump down the digital charity shop (great idea, btw!) at the first opportunity.

As soon as I have gotten past the mental hurdle of paying for a book that I will never see on anything but a digital screen (I can’t bring myself to buy a digital album either!), these are the books I am currently thinking about.

The list is short – I can’t think of any books, so these are largely the suggestions of my lovely Twitter friends. Any suggestions, therefore, gleefully welcomed!

  1. Stephen King short stories
  2. Some Irvine Welsh (Marabou Stork Nightmares & Reheated Cabbage)
  3. Trudi Canavan
  4. How To Be A Woman, Caitlin Moran
  5. Kraken – China Mieville
  6. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

Any more suggestions?

Comments»

1. Emma Cossey - July 19, 2011

Grace Dent’s guide to leaving twitter is snort on the train funny, and One Day is a weepy. I also loved Dawn French’s autobiography and her book A Tiny Bit Marvellous, although it works better as an audio book. Finally, anything by Danny Wallace. Heart him.

Lauren Cooke - July 19, 2011

Hmm,I have One Day in real life, don’t know whether to double up or just wait to read it, hardcopy. Grace Dents book and Danny Wallace are contenders though, on the list they go!

2. Bart Pountain - July 19, 2011

Kurt Vonnegut and Christopher Brookmyre.

Lauren Cooke - July 19, 2011

I’ve never got on very well with Christopher Brookmyre, but I shall check out Kurt Vonnegut – never heard of him before!

3. richsavageRich - July 19, 2011

I’m reading ‘Kraken’ at the moment – it’s very good.

Other suggestions:

‘The Information’ by James Gleick, if you want something geeky and non-fiction.
‘The lies of Locke Lamora’ – really interesting, gritty fantasy book
‘Dune’ – total classic.

Lauren Cooke - July 19, 2011

Good recommendations – the only on I won’t be taking is Dune as I’ve read it already, it does need rereading but I may save it for winter, curled up under blankets :)

4. Selina McEntee - July 19, 2011

The Sparrow and its sequel The Children of God, by Mary Doria Russell. I recommend these books to anybody who asks – fascinating, fantastical, heartbreaking. Only read them recently and they’re now at the top of my all-time favourites list.

5. Elementalgrace - July 21, 2011

Shades of grey by Jasper Fforde. It’s awesome and the sort of book you gget more from every time you re-read it.

Also Sherlock Holmes collections are free on kindle. Excellent short stories.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

