jump to navigation

RTW Trip Update 2: Down to the Whitsundays August 22, 2011

Posted by Lauren Cooke in RTW Trip Updates, Travel.
Tags: , ,
trackback

So, what a lot has happened since I last updated you. Where shall I start?

Well, after leaving Cairns I headed down to Mission Beach. T0 be honest, I don’t really know why I got it into my head that this was where I wanted to go – it’s a long long beach that was ripped apart by the February cyclone, and which is pretty much just the destination of people wanting to jump out of planes at 14,000 feet to land on the beach. Needless to say that is not me (hah!) so I spent a somewhat depressing day being ignored by the cliques and reading my book with a sulky expression on my face. The next day I escaped, getting out of there and to Magnetic Island as fast as you could say “bored to death”!

Base Backpackers on magnetic island

Those are our huts...

Thankfully it went up from there on in. I arrived at Maggie, or Magnetic Island, and it was all wonderful. The people were nice (and we kind of did things as a group which was awesome), and perhaps more importantly the room was a log cabin literally centimeters from the bright blue ocean. I somehow doubt I will ever spend a night anywhere as superbly located again.

As well as the location, the island itself was great. We walked (for 10k, turns out this hurts a lot when you are as grossly unfit as I currently am!) all up and down the hills, in the blazing heat, arriving on the other side knackered but kind of satisfied – and very glad to get a chance to refill our empty water bottles. It just kept getting better too – after a lunch of the best calamari I have ever had in my life (I mean, like, wow) we adventured into the Koala sanctuary, where as well as getting to hold the super cute Koala we also got to hold and poke various Australian animals. Me being me, and pleased by anything exciting and zoological, I was in my element!

Me holding a Koala on Magnetic Island
Koala! Cute Koala!

Now I’m in Airlie beach, killing time before I head out on a 2 day sailing trip to explore the beauty of the Whitsunday islands. I’ve got my goon, I’m all packed, so bring on the boat!

 

Comments»

1. Amber - August 23, 2011

Awww, the koala is gorgeous!

I can’t tell you how much I admire you for taking this trip, Lauren: I’m sure it can’t have been easy to set out on your own, but it must be such a wonderful experience!

2. Lysy - August 26, 2011

Wow :) sounds amazing! I’m glad you’re feeling better about things and I bet you had the most amazing time sailing (as I remember it the yacht chefs are pretty spectacular).

Cute koala :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

