jump to navigation

A chirpy hello May 8, 2008

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Hi there.

Well. I should start by saying who I am, and then explain how I came to be here. My names Lauren, I’m currently a student (though not for long!), and this is hopefully going to be a place for me to jibber about the world to my hearts content. I technically have another blog, but must admit that my commitment has been nothing short of poor, and I have abandoned it to the ether of the internet giants. My hope is that this new, shiny-as-a-new-button venting zone will receive the love from me that it deserves. I have a rat (Tilly) who is lovely, a sister (Jessie) who can be a lot less lovely, and loving parents (Annie and John). I also have a boyfriend, Ben, and a group of friend’s who are each their own person and whom I won’t list.

Next, a word about where my life is at the moment. As I said a second ago, I’m a student, studying Psychology (2 exams down, 3 more to go…). I’m also starting all that scary job searching palaver – I applied for all the grad schemes months and months ago (if only I knew then what I know now), and am now starting the process of applying for normal jobs in marketing/PR etc. Advertising and brands have been my passion for as long as I can remember, from watching the commercials more than I did the programme, to actually buying books full of glossy pictures and “swotting up”. The problem is, it seems, that despite lots of experience and a VERY determined attitude, people seem not to believe that graduates with a science degree are capable of creative thinking. It’s the same discrimination I encountered in first year, when I wasn’t allowed to study creative writing alongside my course, as it was reserved for arts students. What, I ask, about those individuals who read new scientist, and paint?

Even with the resistance to me getting into the industry, I refuse to be put down. So far I have got 2 periods of work experience, with BBH London and CHI & Partners, which are both pretty major advertising agencies. Ok, so it may be a lot of dogsbody work, but sometimes that’s the best way to get to see marketing processes and more. Oh, and not to stop there, I also have got weekly sessions with the press office on Campus (thanks mightily to a very helpful team who have so far gone out of their way to assist me), so I have managed to get some PR and press release writing experience too. The phrase “yah boo sucks” to the cynics spring to mind, but I somehow think its better to prove me ability in some other, more linguistically sophisticated way!

So tats my life at the moment – a count down to the end of exams and being able to move in with my boyfriend, Ben, whom I love and miss very much. He lives down in Leamington Spa (it’s so beautiful there, I can’t wait to live in that area) and once summer comes we’re planning to move in together.My friends keep commenting on how “grown up” it all is – but to me it just makes sense – it’s one of the few things in life that simply make complete and utter sense from the first instance it was mentioned. He makes me happy, I make him happy (I hope), so what else would we do? I dream bout a house with a massive kitchen full of recipe books and quirky, individually sourced ingredients, a living rooms with snuggle-able sofas (and if snuggle-able isn’t a word, it ought to be, very much), and so much more. I think I’d actually be happy for once.

It’s not that I’m a negative person, but since I’ve been about 16/17 I’ve been fighting a feeling of being swamped by the world, a feeling of being… well, I suppose it’s being sad. Don’t get me wrong, I see everything from the obvious gambolling lambs to the more subtle smoke trail of a factory (not attractive consequences, but it can be beautiful in objectivity) as stunningly beautiful, totally amazing. But I’m not sure my brain believes it deserves to have all that – I’m not sure my brain believes I deserve to have blood pumping through my veins, let alone someone who loves me and wants me to smile. It’s not nice, but it’s something I’m used to dealing with, and something I am starting to more actively change. I have my first session of cognitive therapy on the 19th May, and I’ll take it from there. I’m one of a great many statistics, I suffer from “Depression”, I’m still witty, I’m still happy, I just cry late at night and need occasional reminding that I’m an ok person. It’s not too bad most of the time. There we are, I’ve been honest. Go me.

So, that is my long and impressively honest introduction… I hope to take it from here. I want to document my life. I want to wax lyrical about books and gush about food. I want to take pictures of the world, and burble out poems and tales. I want to discuss everything from antiques (anyone collect 1950’s Alfred Meakin, by the way?!) to clothes (I love them), and occasionally mope about the state of the world. I want to share my life with people, and in turn share their lives.

It’ll be fun.Me and Ben

All-Blogs.net directory

Comments»

1. nectarfizz - May 9, 2008

I find it completely cool that we are both quirky and into psychology!! I am going for a B.A. in Child development! I am also changing my life quite a lot and your post really resonates with me. I will most certainly be reading your blog if you will be so kind as to keep posting to it..(grin)

Bekki

2. nectarfizz - May 9, 2008

ps. You totally have a lot to look forward to..I think your talking about your depression is really brave and I am thinking you will find a lot of support on wordpress..we are a really fantastic community..

3. mysterycreature1 - May 9, 2008

It seems a lovely community so far 🙂 and thanks for being so nice! I have an exam on developmental psychology next week – you should give me tips! hehe. I will indeed keep posting to it – and I shall keep reading yours, so you do the same!

4. amandzing - May 9, 2008

welcome to wordpress, i’m also quite new and having a lot of fun..it’s quite addictive ! 😉

5. mysterycreature1 - May 10, 2008

It is addictive isn’t it?! xx


Leave a Reply

