jump to navigation

The aim of life is to live May 16, 2008

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Henry Miller once said, “The aim of life is to live, and to live means to be aware, joyously, drunkenly, serenely, divinely aware”.

Ben sent me a card with that quote on, today, completely out of the blue. It made me cry, because it was the sweetest thing that anyone has done for me in a long long time, and because it contained more love than I could ever feel I deserve. I read what he said to my mum over the phone, and her response was as emotional as mine. He’s lovely, and I know that he will be there for me through all of the stress of exams, all of the feeling like I can’t handle it, and all of the time to come, good or bad.

I also love him because he sends me texts like the one he just has – “I am a fish. Specifically a sardine”. I can only presume he’s squashed in tight on the train coming to visit me, being as he is traveling at rush hour. It’s great to know that I am not the only one who will say the most random sentences, pieced together of scraps of thought in my head. It is reassuring I can be as weird as I want and know that he’s just as peculiar!

What a pair of oddballs!

I am a beetroot. Specifically a beta vulgaris (Now hows that for random, eh?!)

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

