jump to navigation

Facecrook? May 17, 2008

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

I’ve become slightly nervous, yet unresponsive, following recent programmes documenting the problem of fraud via Facebook.

That is, some unknown money grabbing identity thief with one finger in a plug socket and another thumbing the profits of his detail pilfering adventure. The theory goes that having our details on Facebook, in any shape or form, gives intelligent e-plotters the chance to gather some very important facts and figures about you. Of course this can range from reasonably harmless Facebook stalkers always knowing exactly what is happening in your latest relationship, to your bank being fooled into paying all your money into a suspicious offshore banking account and your name on the deeds of a newly bought villa in the Seychelles. Unfortunately you rarely manage to get your sticky paws on that villa. That is the downside!

By signing up to applications this is where we go wrong the most. Application owners have access to even those details that are totally “Private”. Fishy, I say, and it’s nothing to do with the latest Aquarium application. I have, in my time, signed up to many of these add ons. I have, in misguided moments of my youth (i.e within the last 6 months), become a vampire fighting off zombies. I have stood my ground as peg-legged pirate whilst adding FluffFriends to my page. I have hoped that my pet on my page will be stoked and loved by anybody raising enough money of pet accessories. Nowadays I play Scrabble like a loyal devotee (if you want to play, just ask) and pit my wits against those of the live players in Scramble’s riveting games rooms (Boggle is the real name, to the uninitiated). Essentially it is dawning on me that all these stupid, useless and time wasting attractions of Facebook might just be coming back and biting me on the ass.

And OK, so I’m a student, and any money they did extract would be well… nothing short of miraculous. But it’s the principle of the thing, people!

If you want tips on how to keep your details safe, here’s the BBC’s advice.

Comments»

1. Teck - May 21, 2008

Hello,

Thank you for posting
This informative info…

2. mysterycreature1 - May 21, 2008

Hi there 🙂

It’s quite useful isn’t it?!

xx


Leave a Reply

