jump to navigation

Seasonal Foodstuffs June 5, 2008

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

A poster on the BBC food forum inspired this post – I was reminded of the joys of wild garlic, and thought I’d wax lyrical about the wild ways of my childhood!

Wild garlic

I was always one of those children whose parents had to keep a watchful eye on, as I had a tendency to wander off into deep woodland, “exploring”. In the blink of an eye I would disappear, only to appear ten minutes later stuck at the top of the tallest tree, or knee deep in a (very) muddy puddle. Being used to countryside walks, the outdoor environment was like a second home to me, and I imagine it was this that triggered my love of wild garlic. Growing in swathes by the side of the path, I would smell wild garlic before I saw it, and the consequent sight of masses of glossy green fronds spreading ahead of me was enough to drive me crazy. I’d clamber off, grabbing bunches in my hands, munching as we walked. Once my mother overcame her fear that I would be directly consuming that which dogs had peed on only moments before, she used to enjoy watching me search for leaves out of reach of all but St Bernard’s! Oddly enough, we never cooked with wild garlic – it simply never reached home before it was greedily devoured. I must have stunk as a kid!

Wild garlic is in season in spring – best before its pretty white flowers open up. However, what with the odd spring we’ve had here so far, I wouldn’t be surprised if we keep seeing wild garlic that is edible all the way into summer! The leaves are delicious in salads, and I would imagine they would work just as well in soups or stirfry’s.

elderflowers

Credit for this lovely picture goes to Jordan at www.irishviews.com

Other seasonal food available at this time of year are also there to be enjoyed by those committed enough to go gathering. Pick elderflowers for cordial or fritters – I’ve heard they work well deep fried in batter too. Visit here for a good-looking recipe. Sorrel too is in season, although some find it a little bitter. However, I think it’s lovely in salads, and it’s been recommended to me for soups too – this recipe is very simple. So you know, this is what sorrel looks like:

Sorrel plant

Anyway, I’ll stop waffling now! So go on, out you go – have a look for food in season – they’ll probably be some mushrooms around too!

Comments»

1. gildedfolly - June 6, 2008

I wish I knew what to look for when looking for wild garlic – and I’m scared I’ll poison myself with mushrooms!

Off-topic, thought this might be of ineterst to you:
http://nubbytwiglet.com/blog/?p=330

Hope today goes/went well xx

2. mysterycreature1 - June 6, 2008

The top picture is wild garlic – it’s a pretty obvious plant, and if you pick a leaf and smell it you’ll know for sure! I used to want to be a herbalist when I was younger, so I know all about woodland forays!

I decided not to do the interview in the end – it’s not marketing specific enough, nor is it particularly a setp into marketing – it would have been a waste of my time AND theirs.

Very interesting blog, that one! And soo true!

xx

3. annie - June 13, 2008

I remember you as a very small child in one of those rucksac type carriers on my back with a bunch of wild garlic munching away. My how you did stink but you were very happy. What cleansed blood you must have had.


Leave a Reply

