jump to navigation

The Anti-Christ August 21, 2008

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

What a deliciously controversial start to a post – the AntiChrist, someone who deliberately opposes god, a great antagonist expected to fill the world with wickedness. Well those of you who know me are aware of my devoutly non-religious ways and my hesitant spirituality born only from a recognition of the world as a large and complicated mystery. This is not a religious post. Nor is it a non-religious post. It is in fact, completely unconnected from that complicated and messy debate that surely will reign for many years to come. Nope, this post is instead simply a chance for me to make a terrible but (in my mind anyway) poignant pun on the antiChrist.

This post is about the antifairygodmother. A force or being whose life is dedicated to ruining happy endings, dashing expectations and generally being a bit of a pain in the ass. Some refer to this force as fate, or sod’s law. But these magical and unforgiving forces have a positive as well as a negative. Occasionally, just occasionally (but ONLY when you are not expecting it), the winds will blow success your way, will throw a bone to your metaphorically hungry inner-dog.

The antifairygodmother, however, will do no such thing. He/She/It will take it upon itself to sabotage expectations, to put penance to your hopeful fantasies and foolish intentions. With a sudden downpour your idyllic picnic will be ruined. With a disappointing climax that film you had always believed would be fantastic becomes a flop. If you build yourself up for a great night, for fall down the stairs in the club, or pull that strangely attractive sixty year old.

I generally am an optimistic person. Whilst believing wholeheartedly in the ironic sense of humour of the world and sods law, I also know that generally life will throw a positive your way. For every down you will eventually get an up. Its the rule of balance – the law of physics. That which you give out you shall receive.

However, occasionally pessimism gets the better of me. When you work yourself up to an excited frenzy about something – about a fairytale happy ending and encounter that should by all rights, even without a good reason, be thoroughly enjoyable and quite special. ON these occasions, all too often they fall into that antifairygodmothers realm – and nothing is quite how it should be.

Last night I went to the train station. For some reason I had butterflies in my tummy about seeing Ben – and he had only been gone since that morning. I had Hollywood style intentions of running up him, giving him a big kiss, and receiving an exuberant kiss in response. No such occurrence. I went up to him, grinning broadly, only to receive a perfunctory kiss and then for him to attempt to fall asleep on my shoulder.

A long days work always gets in the way of your intentions.

Comments»

1. Elisabeth - August 21, 2008

What a great thought provoking post! Your blog is wonderful.

2. Nance - August 21, 2008

“I generally am an optimistic person. Whilst believing wholeheartedly in the ironic sense of humour of the world and sods law, I also know that generally life will throw a positive your way. For every down you will eventually get an up. Its the rule of balance – the law of physics. That which you give out you shall receive.”

I find it very interesting that people who claim to be non-religious have such great faith that the universe obediently follows a set of laws. Do you believe these laws happened by chance? What great faith it takes to be an unbeliever!

3. mysterycreature1 - August 21, 2008

Elisabeth – Thank you. It was a bit of a rant but I felt like having fun with the idea at the same time 🙂

Nance – Thanks for your comments. I claim to be nonreligious, in the sense that I regard most religions as having contributed more negatives than positives to the state of the world today, and I feel that the sheer incredulous quality of many of their claims (not to mention certain cash hungry religions, the treament of people who are different – women, different races, different sexualities). However, the fact that whatever force is out there – be it fate or chance, they seem to work very similarly to me – seems to acts means that I succumb to trusting the world around me, because as a collective it is much bigger and more important than me.

Essentitally I am a spiritual sceptic!

4. nectarfizz - August 27, 2008

Sounds to me like it lived despite any expectations..since you are recalling it here, must have gotten into some memory bank. (grin)

5. mysterycreature1 - August 27, 2008

Nectar, I seem to have had a mental breakdown – what lived?


Leave a Reply

