jump to navigation

October 17, 2008

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback
Friend and fellow blogger Second Hand Shopper has been so kind as to give me an Honest Blogger Award. I am mighty chuffed!
Here are the rules below!
“When you receive the prize you must write a post showing it, together with the name of who has given it to you, and link them back.
Choose a minimum of 7 blogs (or more) that you find brilliant in their content or design.
Show their names and links and leave them a comment informing they were prized with ‘Honest Weblog’.
Show a picture of those who awarded you and those you give the prize (optional).
List [if you can and/or dare] at least ten honest things about yourself. And then, pass it on.”

My Seven:

Always at Alwaysthatgirl
Amanda at The Amandzing Way
Sulz at Bloggerdygook
Bekki at Nectarfizz
A very brave girl atArise from the Ashes
Ella atFrom Scratch
Elisabeth atWine Glass Logistics 


Ten Honest Things About Me
1. I am one of the most self confident people I know, yet I am crippled by feelings of insecurity and failre. I don’t know why this is, but it’s horrible and contradicting and annoying.

2. I have a bit of a thing about shoes, but very few ever fit my feet. In fact, my little toes have started sloping inwards through being shoved in shoes that don’t fit. I like wearing them however, because I have always wanted something I can be passionate about.

3. Cie, don’t worry about it – I am terrified of the Dark. I have been known to have complete freak outs and nearly panic attacks when left alone in the dark, and remember one particularly horrible occasion where a helium balloon drifted into my face in the dark Arrrrggghhh!

4. I love reading more than enything in the world, but I still pass it up in favour of sitting in front of the TV and doing nothing at all. I feel disappointed in myself every time I do it, but my lazyness is occasionally beyond even my control.

5. I bite my nails down to the quick and the skin all around them. Nothing works to stop me. Today I sat at my desk with a drawing pin and picked at the more stubborn bits. I worry quite often that this really is tantamount to self-harm.

6. Deep down inside (and here’s a serious, depressing one folks, feel free to skip ahead!) I don’t think anyone likes me – I have trouble believing Ben loves me, I am sure that really, despite all my lovely friends, noone would care if I wasn’t here. This is m y deepest, darkest insecurity, yet I probably also feel it to protect myself. Eek.

7. When left alone in the house, I always take the oppurtunity to cook vast amounts of past, smother it with cheese, and eat it in front of the TV in my underwear. I then follow this with chocolate until I feel sick. It seems to be my routine when alone. I simply don’t see the point of cooking nice meals when alone – meaning sometimes I forget to eat at all!

8. I develop strongly negative opinions about something (such as an actor, a presenter, or a film/band) and then quite often find myself sneakily liking them. I usually hide this for up to a year, and noone clicks. This might be because I am so overtly offensive about them that they trust me!

9. I am very concious of the fact I can’t dance. However, when I’m alone I will put music on loud, and dance around with my eyes closed until I work up a sweat. It is the best therapy ever, as long as I know noone is watching.

10. I’m on anti-depressants. And I’m quite normal. And quite happy. That’s the sort of honest that doctors don’t like – after all, surely you can’t be both depr5essed AND happy?! Well, news for you – YOU CAN!! Deal with it!
Comments»

1. gildedfolly - October 17, 2008

Three things:

1) I am exactly the same regarding number 4 – I LOVE books yet sit and watch TV/DVDs – even when there’s nothing on TV TO watch – it’s weird!

2)I picked my nail-bits with drawing pins today too – I often do actually!

3) It doesn’t matter how drunk I am (or was that night ;)), I cannot say the words “I love you” unless I mean them. Even if people say them to me first – they won’t be forced past my lips. I think you should believe people love you, because they do. And who wouldn’t! xx

2. sulz - October 17, 2008

aww, thank you so much for the mention! interesting list you got there. 😉 my honest but weird thing is that i like bruises! i don’t like getting them, but when i have one i love to press on it to feel that delicious pain, haha. it’s kind of like how i hate receiving criticism no matter how constructive they are, but once i do have one i’ll just replay it in my mind until i believe i’m the most godawful person in the world. hmm, that one, not so good…

3. Honestly, It’s All About Love & Friends « bloggerdygook - October 17, 2008

[…] 18 October 2008: I’m certified honest by Mysterycreature […]

4. amandzing - October 18, 2008

🙂 thank you 🙂

i feel you on the shoes, somethings are just too precious to pass up 😉

5. Honest Award.. « Nectarville! - October 19, 2008

[…] 19, 2008 Posted by nectarfizz in Daily Ramblings, Life. Tags: Honest award. trackback Wow! Mystery creature! Has given me the honest web-log award! Thanks..I feel a bit […]

6. saintpaulgrrl - October 19, 2008

I found my way here by being tagged for this award through Nectarfizz’s blog. Just a comment about #10. I, too, am on anti-depressants and have been for almost 13 years now. When on the medication, I am happy and well-adjusted. My neurotransmitters are in proper balance with SSRIs to help with that balance. Just as a diabetic is still diabetic when well-controlled on the right dose of insulin, a person with clinical depression still has clinical depression when controlled on the correct medication for their neurotransmitter imbalance. I think that most doctors know this, and there is nothing strange about it! I’m glad that it’s working out well for you! 🙂


Leave a Reply

