jump to navigation

As Promised… November 25, 2008

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Hi Everyone

 

As I promised yesterday, please find below my list of favourite books so far in my life. Now, I am still young and have many years of reading ahead of me – so I happily and fully admit that this list is full of my own subjective and experience-limited choices. I am sure this list would be different were I choosing the most important or influential books – but luckily for me, these are the ones I enjoyed, and the ones I loved. I am also aware that I have forgotten many books!

I would very much like to know what all other avid readers think?

  • Birdsong – Stephen Faulks
  • Lolita – Vladimir Nabokov
  • Fight Club – Chuck Palahniuk
  • Norwegian Wood – Haruki Murakami
  • Memoirs of a Geisha – Arthur Golden
  • Clan of the Cave Bear (etc) – Jean Auel
  • Northern Lights (etc) – Phillip Pullman
  • Rebecca – Daphne Du Maurier
  • Wuthering Heights – Emily Bronte
  • The Yellow Wallpaper – Charlotte Perkins
  • The Bell Jar – Sylvia Plath
  • For whom the Bell tolls – Ernest Hemmingway
  • Noughts and Crosses – Malorie Blackman
  • Brother in the land – Robert Swindells
  • The Raven – Edgar Allen Poe
  • Hitchhikers guide to the galaxy – Douglas Adams
  • Red Dwarf (etc) – Doug Naylor
  • The Shining – Stephen King
  • IT – Stephen King
  • A brief history of everything – Bill Bryson
  • The colour purple – Alice Walker
  • Through the looking glass – Lewis Carrol
  • Atonement – Ian McEwan
  • Animal Farm – George Orwell
  • Kite Runner – Khaled  Hosseini
  • Dune – Frank Herbert
  • Eragon – Christopher Paolini
  • Lord of the Flies – William Golding
  • Life of Pi – Yann Martel
  • Horse Whisperer – Nicholas Evans 
Comments»

1. gildedfolly - November 25, 2008

The Garth Nix trilogy for me – Sabriel, Lirael, Abhorsen. Unbelievable – cried for 20 mins after I finished reading Abhorsen, partly because of the ending, mostly because there was no more to read!

Also – hate Hemingway! But we’ve had that conversation before! Cx

2. sandysays1 - November 25, 2008

My top 5 are: “To kill a mocking bird” “A river runs through it.” (Maclean puts great stuff on paper) “Jurassic Park” “Tom Sawyer” (Hey, its a great study of HUMAN nature) “Message in a bottle” (Love Sparks) Visit my blog at:
http://www.SandySays1.wordpress.com

3. T - November 25, 2008

I do like Stephen Kings books for some time now.

Usual books i read on the plane are from James Patterson.

T.x


Leave a Reply

