jump to navigation

Job Getting February 9, 2009

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Fashion, Life, Chatter & Politics, Rants.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Today I was takenon permanently in my job. Which is brilliant, mainly because it means I have the rights of my fellow employees – such as holidays. Also, it shows that my work within this company has been recognised. I have, as a condition of my employment, to temporarily fulfil the role of the EMEA marketing assistant – cue more experience!

Unfortunately, however, I allowed myself to get sidetracked by another comment that came up in my making-permanent. I was asked to try and avoid wearing short skirts. Now, this would be slightly more OK were I the sort of girl who wore denim mini’s and boob tubes to work. However, any “short” skirts I have ever worn I am sure was work appropriate – worn with dark dark tights, or not really that short.

For the first time in my life (and I know I have led a blessed life thus far) I feel different because I am a woman. I feel that the clothes I wear are a direct reflection of my “sexuality” – rather than an expression of the who I am inside. In my opinion, if a person is allowed to wear statement items such as burkhas for religious reasons, I should be allowed to wear clothes generally considered inoffensive.

I know, I know. I am getting wrapped up in the least important point of today. And don’t get me wrong, I do care. I just got hurt, and then felt confused. And I am sure I can survive without any skirts people would think of as short.

My clothes, they are who I am. My identity.

Comments»

1. Andrea - February 11, 2009

I don’t blame you for feeling weird about that – I would too. But congratulations, as well! 🙂

mysterycreature1 - February 11, 2009

Thank you! I did freak myself out about that one somewhat! Think I was hormonal (Think?! I know!! I was a crazy teary hyper mess!), but I have settled down now and come around to being excited.

2. gildedfolly - February 11, 2009

God, that would piss me off. I’ve been waiting to be asked to wear more appropriate atire for months now…

Congratulations for the permanency though honey! I think celebratory pink fizz may be in order soonish! xx

3. mysterycreature1 - February 11, 2009

It pissed me off! Somewhat spoilt the moment too! PLus I couldn’t find any skirts I would consider to actually be short in my wardrobe – meaning I probably have a dodgy idea of short!!

Pink fizz is definately in order, wihtout a doubt.

4. gildedfolly - February 12, 2009

Well, the assistant ceo of our company just told me I look fantastic today – and I’m wearing my mini sailor dress. I think I’m safe!


Leave a Reply

