jump to navigation

School’s… IN?! February 24, 2009

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Foodiness, Life, Chatter & Politics.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Yesterday I went back to school – well, in a sense at least. I had my first “Cooking for pleasure” sessions as per my present from Ben, and this is held at the local college, as a night course.

Me being me, I was incredibly nervous beforehand! I have never been very good at the build up before things that are new, shiny and unfamiliar. I stress myself out over the tiniest things – whether I Will actually find the room. Whether anyone will like me. How I will choose what cookery island to work from. Will I have the right ingredients. Whether I will suddenly develops an even more pronounced complete ineptitude, and accidentally set fire to myself… the room.. god, even the world.

It has been said I am paranoid – I now believe it. And I know really that none of this stuff will really (hopefully) happen – I just build myself into throngs of worry whilst waiting. And being that I am writing this post today, you can take comfort in the fact that I didn’t burn ANYONE last night – or anything!

In fact, it was a success! After wandering nervously up the corridor lined with lockers (a blast from the past if ever there was one – even the must sock smell was exactly the  same!) and being deposited outside the door by a very patient boyfriend, I gathered the courage to go in.

The result was something I should have seen coming – a room full of slightly nervous looking people, avoiding eye contact at first and then gingerly trying to form some sort of friendship – all be it temporary. A few cooking related anecdotes later, and all was good!

Why do I do it to myself?!

Here’s what I made – click the link to see the recipe

Brown bread ice-cream

Brown Bread Ice-cream

Camembert and Leek risotto

Leek and Camembert risotto

Comments»

1. Sarah@ElementalGrace - February 24, 2009

That sounds really cool – am so glad it went well for you. What did you make? Are we going to get photos of your new culinary creations? 🙂

2. Christina Sanders - February 25, 2009

mmmm that risotto sounds lovely! xx

mysterycreature1 - February 25, 2009

Its was good, but sooo filling! As a good risotto should eb, I suppose!

Sarah – I’ve added in piccies for you 🙂

3. Annie Spandex - February 26, 2009

Mmm, I love risotto!

4. Sarah@ElementalGrace - February 26, 2009

The risotto looks delish. I’ve never had brown bread icecream (or even tried to make icecream) – what’s it like?

mysterycreature1 - February 26, 2009

it’s kind of… sweet. The bread mainly just adds a lovely crunchy syrupy texture. And it was so very easy to make!


Leave a Reply

