jump to navigation

Karmic Balance March 2, 2009

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Life, Chatter & Politics, What I Wore.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Sometimes you have to have something bad, in order to have something really, really good. At least, that’s what I keep telling myself about this weekend!

I travelled up to Lancaster for an old girls re-union, staying overnight in a hotel and partying the night away. Of course, it was also a chance to see the dear friends I miss! The weekend was a brilliant success – full of lots of wild dancing and gossipping – but getting to the place was a ruddy nightmare!!

Here goes the story – laugh (no doubt) and enjoy, as long as you spare me a little sympathy!

So. At half 9 I set off from my little flat, boyfriend and little overnight bag in hand. I was proud that I had packed so minimally, and excited about clambering onto the train and setting off. Upon arrival at the station, however, that all changed. I went to pay for my ticket – a teeny £4.50 – whereupon the first stage of my personal disaster hit – my card was rejected! A quick outing to the cash point revealed that I had hit the end of my overdraft limit – even though I was paid the night before.

I panicked – I must have sleep-shopped (the less common alternative to sleepwalking), heading onto the Internet and buying until my little card was no more – I was surprised it hadn’t spontaneously combusted. If you are thinking that this is a slight over-reaction, I reassure you this this was the only possible explanation!

Still, Ben remained calm (in the face of my brilliant un-calmness), and bought my ticket for me. He then grabbed me some cash, insisting I could pay him back. Unfortunately, I had by this point missed my train, so I trailed miserably and worriedly up that stairs to stand like an emotionally bedraggled rat on the station side.

Only to realise… that Ben had gone homewith my overnight bag. Another mad panic ensued (that makes two panics before 11!), wherein Ben legged his was from house to station, collapsing onto the pavement next to me, wheezing and coughing. I suppose this proves why asthmatics shouldn’t run – especially when they last did exercise quite so long ago!

After the breathless episode was out of the way, I finally made it onto the train with seconds to spare, and plopped myself in the chair. I swear, I must have beamed pissed-off attitude from every pore! I then proceeded to ring my bank, where it was discovered that my monthly gym membership had come out of my account, at the kingly rate of £300 a month!

£300?! I hear you yell, screechinga little with disbelief. What sort of mad woman pays £300 for a gym she only really “intends” to use?!

Well, not me! The foolish bank had entered by £30 direct debit at £300, effectively clearing me out and leaving me monetarily stranded! Fools! The money is back now, but even so, excuse me whilst I “Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr”!

I did however, arrive in Lancaster, and the day went fantastically. We shopped, we dropped, we dressed up and we pranced eagerly around Lancaster’s restaurants and clubs. We got to see people we haven’t seen in years, and I loved every second of it – even dancing madly by myself to Mr Brightside whilst everyone else gyrated to dance music in the other room!

As you can see, we had lots of fun!

reunion1 Lancaster university

I wore – dress: Kate Moss, Topshop (£20), Silver belt (bootfair), Bertie shoes (eBay, £15)

p.s I wore nightmare shoes (beautiful, beautiful nightmare shoes) – they were Bertie, but constantly cause my ankles to twist – definitely not wearing them again!

Comments»

1. gildedfolly - March 2, 2009

Lol honey – nightmare, yes, but lol!

I think you all look rather fabulous! I LOVE Laura’s dress, and the centre one with swirls on – is that Vicky (think I recognise her from pics you’ve shown me – I’m not a stalker!)? The purple ruffle-fronted one is gorgeous too… all in all, lovely ladies!

Glad you had fun xx


Leave a Reply

