jump to navigation

What I wore March 4, 2009

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Thrifting, What I Wore.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Another outfit shot – look at me go! Woop!

I was very fifties housewife today, a look I seem to be moving towards. Perhaps I long to mow the lawn in my Prada, or do the dusting in my Jimmy Choo’s! Who knows my unconscious (deeply) buried desires?!

Anyway, I love this dress – an eBay treasure I converted (removing some dramatically puffy sleeves!) and found actually creates the illusion of a curvy figure – brill!

Fifties polka dot dress

Cardi: Primark, Dress: eBay, Shoes: Topshop (eBay), Belt: Came with a skirt!

A bargain outfit! I can’t wait until I get my sewing machine and can properly convert clothes – hand-stitching is terrible!

Comments»

1. Diana - March 4, 2009

I love anything with polka dots! That dress looks great on you, especially with that lovely belt.

mysterycreature1 - March 4, 2009

Diana – thank you, I’m glad you like it 🙂 The belt was such a bargain – it came with my primark skirt, which was only £3! woop!

2. Sarah@ElementalGrace - March 4, 2009

Fab! I have a love affair with fifties style and rockabilly dresses. Looks just great!

3. Tonia - March 4, 2009

I love the dress, but I think it would look better if it was shortened, like, slightly above the knee length 🙂

http://labelleetlaitgirl.wordpress.com

4. mysterycreature1 - March 4, 2009

Sarah – thanks, I love it! Feel I should be jigging in a barn somewhere!

Tonia – do you think so? I considered it when I first bought it, but the wrap around was a factor – and then I fell in love with it skimming my knees! I think it might do something wierd if it’s shortened, and look really disproportionate.

5. bellefantaisie - March 9, 2009

That’s a lovely dress!
x

6. selina - March 9, 2009

SO cute! and you cut the sleeves off? what a find, who knew it’s amazing 50’s potential! will be great in the summer

mysterycreature1 - March 12, 2009

Yup, I cut the sleeves off. This was before I had a sewing machine – so it was a slow job! hehe.

7. Lara - March 10, 2009

Oh, that dress is fantastic! Love that brilliant blue…

mysterycreature1 - March 12, 2009

It’s a proper royal blue – isn’t it lovely?!

8. miss matilda - March 21, 2009

beautiful, you are deff not average you are super!

9. mysterycreature1 - March 21, 2009

Thanks Miss M – nice of you to say so 🙂 You guys are all so nice!


Leave a Reply

