jump to navigation

Postsecret.com March 8, 2009

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Depression, Graphic Design, Inspiration, Life, Chatter & Politics, Wordy Business.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Those of you who read the observer of a Sunday will probably already be familiar with the concept of “Postsecret”, a fantastic community art project in which the public is invited to submit their life’s secrets on postcards, with no worry of judgement or guilt. It is an excellent (and very expressive) collection of confessions, and art. It is filled with humour, with deep emotion, with guilt and with horrors I hope I never have to face.

For my birthday, my sister got me a perfect present – a book of these secrets (I will post my other lovely pressies later this week). I flicked though them on the way home, reading them out to Ben, and bounced between hilarity and deep sadness. I cried, I giggled, I recoiled in shock.

For those of you interested in the concept of art based therapy, you can see the blog here: http://postsecret.blogspot.com/

Anyway, I decided to be brave. Please don’t judge, but here are my deepest darkest secrets, out there for the world to see. I am not proud of them, but I am not ashamed of them either. Unfortunately they make up part of who I am, and I am glad to be able to admit them to the world. Hopefully I make make someone realise they are not alone, as those postcards in the book made me realise just how similar humanity is.

1. Sometimes I wish I was still depressed, because it gives me an excuse for when I fail.

2. I long to get terribly ill, just so people will realise that they do love me after all.

3. Sometimes I wish I could leave you and experience the world, so I could come back to you a better person.

4. I worry I will never be satisfied with my life, even if I get everything I want.

Comments»

1. Sarah@ElementalGrace - March 9, 2009

I LOVE postsecret and I think that’s incredibly brave of you.

mysterycreature1 - March 12, 2009

Thank you:)

2. Diana - March 9, 2009

It takes a lot of courage to reveal things like that. I feel you a lot on number 2. Sometimes I imagine what it would be like if I got in a car accident, who would visit me in the hospital, how they would act after I got better, etc.

mysterycreature1 - March 12, 2009

Thanks Diana – it took me a bit of courage, but as soon as they were out there I didn’t mind – it WAS like therapy! I think people often think things they “shouldn’t” – sometimes is better to admit it than deny it!

3. Beth - April 4, 2009

wow, it really does show how much everybody is alike in the world. and i love the postsecret site. after school if im feeling uninspired for art.. or emotionally drained or whatever i visit the site and every week i am amazed by peoples efforts/creativity and their confidence whether it is building up or already strong.

thanks for sharing 🙂
ps. im with you for no 2..
but at teh same time i have my family who have been sick and i adore them and wouldnt wnat to put them through what i went through..

mysterycreature1 - April 5, 2009

Hi Beth

The post secret sight s great – and the books really but your life in perspective. Thanks for being so supportive!

4. PostSecret | Narrative Self - April 5, 2009

[…] round some blogs this evening and was very taken with a post on Mystery Creature’s blog A Typical Atypical about PostSecret, a vast and vastly simple arts project.  (Though it’s almost one of those […]


Leave a Reply

