jump to navigation

Pet peeves March 24, 2009

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Blogs, Rants.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Nope, not peeves about my pets (although there are plenty of them, those rats are bloody bonkers!), but a pet peeve that has really wound me up this morning.

Now, every day I like to browse a variety of blogs. I look at all the ones on my blog roll, and then enjoy exploring other blogs following the chain of links – from blog to blog to blog. If I really really like them I add them to my blog roll, so I can go back to them on demand. I leave comments, I read posts, and then I generally pummel the back button until I’m back where I came from, and start the whole process again.

This is where my pet peeve comes in – and it extends to normal commercial websites to. They all do it, and I hate it!

“Do what?” I hear you ask.

What they do is simple. If I was a patient person (and not stuck in a technological rut of routine and habit) it probably wouldn’t both me at wall. What these blog hosting sites do is this – they prevent you from going “back”. Sure, you can type in the link, and leave the page in a blink of an eye. But sites such as blogger (the worst culprit out there – I shall growl at you… grrrrrrr) won’t let the back button work as it should. You come onto the site. You read, you write your comment, and then it should be two back clicks to get back where you were in your little bloggy system. However, these don’t let you leave – they keep you stuck in a little circle where clicking the back button takes you to the page you are trying to leave – and only if you manically press the back button will it let you leave – all be it reluctantly.

And then, of course, it will let you leave only to go back 20 more steps that you intended – so then you have to slowly click your way forward. It’s a nightmare.

You all have probably experienced this. You may have accidentally clicked onto a boring commercial website, that won’t let you go back to your google search without a tooth and nail fight. You have probably also experienced it with blogger.

To me, it breaches web etiquette. Don’t get me wrong – it is not the author I am ranting at!! It is the blog hosting website, who is cheeky enough to snag a reader and then pin their wings to the metaphorical butterfly board. Grrrr!

Comments»

1. Sarah@ElementalGrace - March 24, 2009

Well articulated, and it’s a fundamental usability issue that NEEDS to be addressed. Basic issues such as the forward and back buttons should function the same way no matter what website you’re on.

That’s why, more often than not, I open up new links in new tabs by holding down the shift key so I don’t have to face that same ridiculous palava.

mysterycreature1 - March 24, 2009

I’m glad I’m not the only one Sarah! And whilst it may be easy to get around (let’s be honest, we all know it is really), we shouldn’t have to! hehe

2. Jen - March 24, 2009

Ooh, this does sound annoying. When i’m on a little bloggy hunt i normally open each link in a new tab, that way the page i was originall on is still open and i have a bunch of new places to head to. Perhaps that might help solve your wee problem?

mysterycreature1 - March 25, 2009

Hi Jen

Yup, thats what I would do, but at work we only have old (OLD) internet from the 1700’s – and have to open a new browser for each web page – no nice simple problem solving tabs for me!


Leave a Reply

