jump to navigation

Random Kindness March 25, 2009

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Life, Chatter & Politics, What I Wore.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I love nice strangers. A simple comment or compliment can make your day, and is all the more special because it is unexpected. A grey, normal day is transformed into one where you walk with your head a little higher, with your smile a little bigger. The sky becomes bluer, and the air tastes sweeter.

I was getting my lunch at the little sandwich shop down the road form work, having managed to avoid the eyes of the van driver who shouted “Nice legs Darlin” out of his window at me. his being the one occasion I left me heels on for a walk from work, rather than switching automatically to my soft flat and comfy trainers, repeller of creeps.

Whilst waiting for my (oh so sinful) baked potato, I felt a hesitant tap on my shoulder. The slightly shy looking man behind me wanted my attention. What he said was lovely – “Excuse me. Sorry about this. But I just wanted to say what fantastic fashion sense you have”. Oh, I spluttered, thank you – how sweet. He continued “It brightens up my day seeing you walk past every day – always so bright and colourful etc”.

Isn’t that sweet!!?? Some people are so kind, and can say the exact right thing.

On another note, I am in love with my tights today. The colour makes them my favourite pair at the moment – not quite purple, not quite pink, not quite grey. Indescribable, AND patterned – a definite winner! Plus, they are Dotty P’s, meaning they are affordable!

Purple tights

On a second note, I also was excited to receive my copy of Backwards in High Heels – which is so pretty I can’t wait to read it all!

Backwards in High Heels

Comments»

1. megan - March 25, 2009

Your stockings are soooo lovely! That kind of compliment always makes my day too. I normally just expect men’s comments to be sleazy and off-putting and when they’re nice that way it makes me beam.

2. Joanne - March 25, 2009

What a cutie blog. Ta for commenting on my blog. If you feel really passionate about writing, a writing course is the way to go. Writing is so time consuming (depending what you want to write ie ficion) that without some sort of guidance, especially if you’re new to writing, can make a huge difference. I’m learning a lot. Best of luck.

3. mysterycreature1 - March 25, 2009

Megan – once I got past the sleaze on the street(always in vans, why is that?), it was such a nice change. I’m still grinning now!

Joanne – thanks for the compliment. I think in the next 6 months I will do a course, as you say it adds that structure for a newby to the trade.

4. najeema - March 25, 2009

If I saw you walking down the street, I would’ve told you how gorgeous your shoes are too!

mysterycreature1 - March 26, 2009

Thanks Najeema – they are pretty cute aren’t they 🙂 hehe

5. Angela - January 30, 2010

I looooove those tights. Where are they from?


Leave a Reply

