jump to navigation

Good God! March 29, 2009

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Depression, Life, Chatter & Politics.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Theology is not, as we joked earlier, the lifelong study of Theo Paphitis. Strangely. But never mind, because talking about Theology got my brain thinking, and I decided to do that risky thing – write a post about religion.

Now please, before I start, I must specify a few things. The blogoshpere is a wide and public sphere, and I am very aware of the offence that can be cast through personal opinion and reckless judgements. Religion is a topic that fires up the hearts of people everywhere, provoking a strong mix of powerful emotions – love, hate, resentment, jealousy, confusion. To write about this topic is to be provocative by default, but I do want to put in a bit of a disclaimer.

I am not a believer in “God”. I am not religious in any way, although I admire the concept of faith, and consider myself to be very spiritual, for a painfully logical individual. Anything I say can offend, but is not intended as such – honest! Choose now if you are happy to read my waffle, or if you would prefer not to.

Anyway, I was thinking today about how lovely it would be to be a member of a religion. I would like to experience that feeling of deep trust and involvement in a greater whole. Unfortunately for me, it has never really crossed my mind that this “god” could exist – I could not grasp how something huge and all-powerful could float around in the metaphorical sky above our heads. I think life is too complicated for a creator, a judge, or a single force.

If I was to believe in anything it would be in the idea of a “consciousness”. Not necessarily a tangible force, but a consequence of so many people and things thinking and acting, in such a small world like this. It is just hard to get my head around the idea that all that is going on on this earth is just it (I suppose the basic reason behind all religion), an this is my way of saying “well, perhaps..”.

My problem is not with religious beliefs (although don’t get me started on the consequences of specific religions, all the murder, torture, greed and more), but withthe idea that this god exists at all. It just seems to me to be ridiculous to imagine it – to see this floaty fella in the clouds. To put all responsibly for your life not on your own head, but on the head of an imaginary invention, clearly created to reassure us of the reasons for our own existence. After all, humans cannot dealwell with the concept of living, and then dying. It only seems worth it if we are working towards some greater purpose, some other existence for the good, some dark hell for the bad.

As someone who has felt suicidal at times (and I now that can go the other way for some people, we all have individual feelings and responses), this had an interesting effect. Now I am pretty much fixed (hehe!), I feel much happier to just live as well as I can for the moment, and not worry about what happens when I die. Death is just something that happens at the end of life – whether it is tomorrow (hopefully not)or in another 60 years. What happens after death doesn’t bother me – but what I do in the hear and now does.

I hope that I live my life well. I hope that I do well enough to feel ok about leaving, to feel little guilt. I also like to think that if I am wrong about all this, that this is notenough to doom me to an eternalhell. Any god who does that – well, I don’t want to be involved anyway. Alongside this simple, personal hope, I hope that religions as separate, competitive and money fuel entities will dissolve and disappear as people become enlightened. I hope that all religions will merge, or individualspirituality and living will be enough. That being good to others and living a good life will do, that icons, gold and membership will stop counting.

Perhaps, as Northern Lights speculates, God is dead? Perhaps we need to get on with it, and do the best we can.

Comments»

1. megan - March 29, 2009

I agree with and identify with every single thing in this post, and thought you articulated these thoughts in a beautiful way.

2. mysterycreature1 - March 29, 2009

Hi Megan

Thanks for that. I was so geared up for people to get all high horsey! Your comment, however, was just plain lovely!

3. askin ozcan - March 30, 2009
4. Stephie - April 4, 2009

You got me interested in this post with the word ‘suicidal’! I’m also a sometimes suicidal atheist… Being on the edge of life, looking over the precipice in a way that most people never experience, utterly confirms my belief that religion/faith is simply a cop-out. I don’t understand how people in the 21st century can look at the evidence of evolution and deny it is fact. I can only assume that they are too scared to stand on the edge of that precipice, for fear of the quietness that is surely there. I agree with you entirely, we should learn to live our lives for the here and now, this moment, because before we know it this moment will be gone.

mysterycreature1 - April 5, 2009

Hi Stephie

Thanks for popping by, and I really agree – yet can also stand why people chose religion over the potential (however small) for oblivion and emptyness.

Tis a complicated world isn’t it!


Leave a Reply

