jump to navigation

Shoe Love March 31, 2009

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Fashion, What I Wore.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Don’t you love it when you find a great pair of shoes? A pair that look cool and fit perfectly?

This isn’t a rare feeling for me. With high heels, the majority of shoes fit like a glove – such a change from the reality of growing up with stupidly thin long feet. Wedges or platforms fit best, and anything with a buckle (or four) will be practically sublime.

The story isn’t, however, the same for dolly shoes. The staple easy-wear item of girls all around the globe, this lovely little creatures just refuse to fit my feet. They slice through my skin, they twist up my toes – they just are really bloody painful. If I want to wander around in flats, therefore, I have to wear trainers – because I am too tight to shell out on flat boots!

This weekend, however, a trip to Primark turned up a result. As I compulsively try on dolly shoes wherever I go, just in case, I was trying on a pair of light blue patent darlings, with a pretty little bow. Aspiring after my sister, who can climb mountains in Dollys and has a million pairs, I slipped them onto my feet – and joy of joys, they fit!

Aside from nearly breaking down in ecstatic tears at the fact (ok, slight exaggeration there!), I was truly shocked and more than a little amused. A design of shoe that has been rocketing in price lately (costing up to £40 in Topshop, scandal!), will only fit me when it costs £6 – not reduced! Sometimes I love my feet, on the rare occasion when they are not conspiring to make me fall in love with the most expensive shoes in the shop!

So here you go – a little bit of love my my new  shoes!

Primark dolly shoes

On another note, my writing for Queens of Vintage has been really fun lately – I get lots of challenges from people to find the best vintage items (so far I have done galaxy dresses, Mod dresses, Wedding veils, bathroom cabinets and 40’s hats) available on the internet. Unfortunately no-one seems to have any challenges for me at the moment – so if anyone fancies going on the website and commenting with a challenge, that would be great! It gets my shopaholic urge it’s daily kick, but without me spending money.

If you haven’t checked out the website before, it really is worth a look! Lovely place, full of great stuff!

Comments»

1. najeema - March 31, 2009

Haha, very funny! They are gorgeous shoes, btw!

2. mysterycreature1 - March 31, 2009

Hehe, aren’t they just! I love them, and so far they don’t hurt!

3. ellaella - April 1, 2009

Ah, shoes. I must certainly be related somehow to Imelda Marcos! I don’t care how little they cost, I love them all, inexpensive or expensive.

And with a high instep, if I find a pair that’s cute, practical and fits like a glove I will do everything in my power to buy more than one pair.

4. elanarobinson - April 6, 2009

the shoes are beautiful.. dreamy


Leave a Reply

