jump to navigation

Not much to say… April 3, 2009

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Depression, Fashion, What I Wore.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Sometimes I find I have lots to say, but no idea how to say it. I have plenty of blogging ideas drift through the caverns of my skull (brain is on holiday currently!), but as soon as they arise they are gone – and the ones that stick around aren’t actually very good!

So, apologies if this post is a little dull, but words are failing me currently.

I was rung up yesterday by the Health Management team managing my medical questionnaire for going permanent (today being my last day on temporary contract!). They wanted to question me about having been on anti-depressants. Now, as I have always gone to pains to point out, I am oddly well balanced for a “depressive” (well, recovering depressive now!), and couldn’t understand why what anti-depressants I had been on and for how long would be of any importance to my future employer. After all, if I can get a 2:1 degree whilst struggling deeply (some would say drowning, uni got pretty hard in the end), then working life is easily manageable. As I hastened to point out over the phone, I was at the beck and call of some very confused hormones – I just got out of balance and needed popping back into place!

However, they quizzed me on the ins and outs, and being the honest and rather self-believing soul I am I was happy to give them the info what I want. Underneath however, I was fuming. I am not ashamed of having been depressed – I admit it happily (no pun intended) if questioned, although I keep it quiet otherwise in fear of being judged, tarnished with the soggy depression brush. I do not understand why it is an employers business however – what happens in someones life outside of work is, to be frank, not their business. If my work tried to change something I did outside their confines, there would be hell to pay, and the context is the same.

Anyway, just me getting annoyed without any need! Nowt makes me happier that a good (and often illogical) rant! Not that it goes well to rant at the TV whilst watching football with boyfriend and dad – they prefer serious silence, hehe.

asos tights primark dress

Yesterday fashion-wise was the first outing for both my Primark dress and my rather lovely ASOS tights – present from the lovely Stephen. Sorry the photo is so bad, but I am still going from my phone camera – meaning I do what I can with mirrors and still can’t do great outfit shots! I also saw some Shakespeare last night (A Winters Tale) for my mums birthday, and made this lovely birthday cake. Yum!

chocolate fridge cake

I have been quite productive, even if my blog posts aren’t great!

Comments»

1. Amber - April 3, 2009

Hey,

Just a quick note to say thanks for your comment on my blog today: I was a bit taken aback by the character-assasination comment before yours, so it was really nice of you to take the time to say you at least don’t feel like that 🙂

Also: that blue dress is fantastic – love big skirts like that! And I’m also always confused by employers who need to know all about your personal life. I had to have a medical for one of my jobs, and I remember being horrified that that kind of information was going to my employers!

2. mysterycreature1 - April 3, 2009

It was a bit out of the blue – and it’s always made worse when people try to make out they aren’t character assasinating you! I doubt anyone really feel like that about your blog – else the wouldn’t keep coming back!

Digital hug coming your way!

3. ellaella - April 5, 2009

Ooh, that looks tasty. What a lovely cake for a birthday. I’ll bet she loved it!

4. Cath :: AllChic - April 5, 2009

Mmm. lovely blue dress, cool tights, Shakespeare and chocolate cake. Sounds like you had a very nice evening.

5. mysterycreature1 - April 6, 2009

Ella – she did love it indeed. It was so yummy, but sooo filling!

Cath – it was a great evening. Those components all added up to make it great fun!


Leave a Reply

