jump to navigation

Mad men (and women) April 10, 2009

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Fashion, Rants, Vintage.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

I an feeling a little ganged up on this week on Queens of Vintage! I was challenged to find an outfit inspired by madmen, and was thinking pretty secretary suits, matching dress gloves, indescribably hats. I actually found a number of outfits, which I really loved.

Unfortunately I wasn’t prepared for the fact that mad men has inspired a number of die-hard fans, who know down to every last thread exactly which year the items were produced. I was just working from a general look – there was my first mistake.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

First of, I am happy to admit that my first suit wasn’t exactly the right style – but it was picked specifically because of that. Mad men suits may be gorgeous, but if you don’t want every curve and bump of your behind and thighs clung to, then a later 60’s dress will hopefully make you feel slightly more flattered!

Anyway, just wanted to have a silly little moan and gripe on here, and say how glad I am that generally we live in a world full of amazing eras, stunning clothing. brilliant ideas, where we can pick and choose – use an idea and an influence to great an outfit spanning the generations. My outfits were inspired by Mad Men – but not dictated!

Comments»

1. ElementalGrace - April 10, 2009

I have to admit that I do like a smart jacket (as above) with a silk scarf. I don’t know what it is about a good scarf, but I always seem to walk that bit taller and feel more elegant in them. And I quite agree, human creativity is a beautiful thing 🙂

2. Troischats - April 11, 2009

Well I don’t care what the other people say, I think this suit is lovely!

3. Nikki - April 11, 2009

Don’t listen to the crazy fans – I love your choices! Especially the hat. Classy.

4. mysterycreature1 - April 13, 2009

Sarah – jackets and scarves can be great,although scarves make me look slightly insane – does something odd to my neck!

Trois & Nikki – thank you my dears! So nice of you!

5. The Red Velvet Shoe - April 14, 2009

I took a peek at your ensemble, and although it spans a few years, the overall look is lovely! Just as today, we may wear a favorite piece that is 7 or 8 years old with something we bought last week, our vintage ladies did the same. They shopped far less than we do today, and the things they purchased were made to last, unlike today. They took excellent care of their wardrobes, which is why we are fortunate enough to wear vintage today! Thanks for your visit and the link to Queens of Vintage, I’m hooked!!

Michelle

mysterycreature1 - April 14, 2009

Hi Michelle

Thanks for the comment, I’m glad that generally people seem now to be having a positve opinion of my choices! Queens of Vintage is great, and dangerously addictive!

6. stylehighclub - April 16, 2009

I really love your choices! As much as I sometimes love to go for a period look I don’t feel I have to wear a look that’s exactly 1963. Mix and match I say…

7. mysterycreature1 - April 16, 2009

Style high – mix and match – my general all-encompassing theory toward life! It’s worked for me so far!


Leave a Reply

