jump to navigation

Fantasy Baskets April 29, 2009

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Fashion, Inspiration.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Does anyone else have Fantasy Basket syndrome? That is, the act of searching through an online store, filling up the “basket” with all of the things you fall instantly in love with. Trawling the shelves and the metaphorical Internet aisle to find the dresses you simple can’t resist, the singular items that you would consider dying for.

Today I spent a while scanning the contents of my latest Fantasy Basket shop. In the past I have dreamt of ASOS clothes, Vivien of Holloway, Topshop. The bigger the selection, the better the Fantasy Basket experience is. This shop had clothes coming out of it’s ears. High street, fashion copy clothes, just dying to be bought. What made it dangerous? The fact that all the clothes were undeniable affordable – in fact, I would call them cheap as chips!

The shop? Boohoo.com – have a look, it’s full of gems!

 And here are the contents of my fantasy basket – a bit unrealistic, a bit unlikely. Stuff I wouldn’t probably buy – but in my little dream world I am perfectly at liberty to fal madly, deeply, truly in love with. The illogical, possibly unattractive items that currently haunt my phantom carrier.

blue-dress

Blue Cloud Dress – £15 – such a summer number, I am planning to possibly (shock horror) actually buy this one!

pretty-dress

Lovely prom dress (£15) – perfect for light summer ball! If you are looking for a graduation dress that is simple and sweet, this is the one. Oh, and I have no such reason to wear a dress like this, hence it being in my basket!

summer-print-dress

Summer printed dress (£8 – good god! The price!!). I love it. Oddly. Another possible for actually buying!

zebra prom dress

Zebra dress (£10). I know, what I am thinking? It’s zebra print. It’s kinda shiny! Hence my basket!

Forgive me for the next one… it climbed into the basket. I didn’t put it there or anything…

yeti-coat

It’s a Yeti coat (£15), for chrissakes! What’s happening to me. But it does look warm…

kimono-dress

I love this Kimono Dress – and it’s an astounding £8. This one is a little more realistic. It’s orange (because you are all colour blind, or I think you are stupid. Not really!), which is apparently very in at the moment. And is a colour I can wear if I am tanned. But I probably still won’t buy it. Probably.

So there you have it. The reason why fantasy baskets are so good. I saved myself nearly a £100 not buying my mental shop this afternoon. I saved myself from fashion disasters, but got the full pleasure of the guilty rush that follows pressing the “add to basket” button. Ah, this is my favourite Internet game of all. Obviously alongside facebook Scramble (so I’m a nerd, you got a problem?!) and bidding on things I hope I will be outbid on on eBay (I can’t decide isf this is hidden gambling). Great fun!

 

Update: For those of you who care (and I don’t think I get this trend, I’m not built for leggings), this shop stocks those strange wet look leggings. Including the ruched ones, the sequined ones, the coloured ones, and more. And for example, the ruched black ones are in the sale for £6. Compare that to American Aparrel and you really are making a killing.

Comments»

1. Rachael - April 29, 2009

I’ve filled fantasy baskets a few times for Prada, Mui Miu and Marni!! Although I could try the lay-by thing that some stores offer and put around $85 a week for 3 months – not sure if i have the patience though :/

2. Nikki - April 30, 2009

I fill fantasy baskets almost daily! I also save bookmarks folders full of things I may want to buy after pay day. It’s a dangerous game.

3. mysterycreature1 - April 30, 2009

It’s a dangerous game indeed Nikki, perhaps that’s why it’s so much fun! I have so far avoided the folder idea – I don’t think I trust myself enough.

Rachael – you’re going for designers eh?! Even more dangerous, as designers have a tendancy to product that one perfect outfit you simply have to have.

4. gildedfolly - April 30, 2009

God I do this all the time! My worst is Etsy, which I usually end up buying at a later date because IT SAVES IT FOR ME!

Also, my Amazon basket is full to bursting with “saved for later” items!

5. Cas Ruffin - April 30, 2009

I have a fantasy basket that I fill up, just to check how much the stuff is with shipping, and then I decided if I still want it.

6. mysterycreature1 - April 30, 2009

Cie – Baskets that save are lethal… yet… I wish more places had them, becasue ften when I do want to buy things but can’t right then it is such a hassle filling the basket up again!

Cas Ruffin – yup, the old “check the price” trick!

7. J - May 5, 2009

Hehe, I’d love that basket too!

8. Wicked Halo - May 15, 2009

I can’t believe the kimono is so cheap…it’s pretty nice, the cut is pretty cool…what a great find!


Leave a Reply

