jump to navigation

Nesting May 10, 2009

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Family, Life, Chatter & Politics.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

It is strange. The past few weeks something fascinating has occurred. In amongst the working,the shopping, the writing, I have added another -ing to my repertoire. I have begun nesting.

This happens every few months or so. I suddenly find myselfobsessively scanning gumtree for the cutest most awkward looking kittens, for odd puppies I can fit in the palm of my hand. I drag Ben into any pet-shops, to coochy and coo over the Small fluffy utterly dependant creatures.  I also begin trawling house websites. I search out the propertr gems that were I actually in a situation to buy I would have pounced on without a backwards glance.

The problem is this. As Ben works for a rather unhappy British manufacturer with lots of redundancies on their hand, we simply can’t be getting a mortgage and committing to such a big series of payments. Unfortunately we are also in one of the most expensive parts of the country. We also can’t have any pets but our little ats in our flat.

I need to be careful. It s very easy to let myself get carried away with developing my perfect life. Nut unfortunately currently I can’t have that life. I cant life exactly how I wish – it’s just not that simple. So I need to protect myself – essentially, I need to limit my time on the property websites, because so far two perfect houses have come along – a rare feat for a girl like me!

Protect, conserve, and wait.

Comments»

1. ElementalGrace - May 10, 2009

Awe, I really feel for you. It was the greatest relief in creation to be able to buy and do up my little cottage and really indulge my nesting instinct. I have an old scrapbook, started when I was about 10 years old of all the things I was going to have as part of my ‘perfect life’ when I grew up. Interesting to see that my views and tastes haven’t really altered much in the intervening two decades!

2. mysterycreature1 - May 10, 2009

Hi Sarah

I know, I am so envious of all the nesting going on over your way. Lovely! I just can’t wait to have a house one day down the line… it will be so nice!

3. dapper kid - May 12, 2009

I hope you get to have the large beautiful house and pets one day 🙂 Hopefully once the economy picks up! I do love trawling through property websites, and I always go into pet shops for a browse around, I can’t help myself.

4. mysterycreature1 - May 12, 2009

I’m such a petshop addict, it’s terrible. Right, lets keep hoping for the economy to pick up, eh?!


Leave a Reply

