jump to navigation

Nasty Mornings May 13, 2009

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Depression, Life, Chatter & Politics, Rants.
Tags: , ,
trackback

I hate mornings where everything goes wrong! The sort of day where you swing reluctantly out of bed, already sensing that this will be your first bad decision. Today was one of those days for me.

I clambered out of bed, did my teeth, and then proceeded to get dressed. Unfortunately the warm wintry skirt I put on (yes, I know summer may be coming, but it’s freezing and wet at the moment!)had a bit of a duff zip. I did it up, realised the base of the zipper needed sewing back together, and went to take it off again. This is where my problems began.

The zip didn’t want to undo. It sat their, resiliently, stubbornly. I tugged, I stretched, and then I panicked. I enlisted the help of my man, who pulled and tugged a little more – to no avail. By this point, late and stressed, I was really starting to freak out. “I’m trapped, I’m trapped”, I was repeating over and over. Whereupon we went back to the skirt, and it slid smoothly open as if it had been willing to do that all along.

Then I needed to find a replacement. I grabbed whatever came first, which is why I am wearing yesterdays wrinkled navy trousers, and a black top that was at the top of the draw. It is why my hair it “scrunched”, and growing wildly out of my head in all directions. Since arriving at work I have tried everything to tame it. It hasn’t worked.

Of course arriving at work was also a trial. On the way out, having already made Ben (my lift!) late, he realised he couldn’t find his car keys. 10 minutes and one dismantled room later, I finally asked him where he put them last night. The answer? On the table behind the sofa, whereupon I promptly found them falling inside the sofa.

It wasn’t great, and I feel unatractive, stupid and stressed. Great!

Comments»

1. gildedfolly - May 14, 2009

Hope you’re feeling better today honey!

It sounds rather like the morning I had this morning – slept really badly all night, woke up 25 mins after my alarm had stopped, none of my clothes looked right, my hair is in plaits because there simply wasn’t the time to blow dry it… Ugh!

xx


Leave a Reply

