jump to navigation

Five of the best: Vintage Inspired Bikinis June 5, 2009

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Fashion, Vintage.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Taking a leaf from the VI books of the beautiful Fleur de Guerre this Friday’s scheduled post is listing five of the best vintage style bikinis and swimsuits out there.

Enjoy!

First up is a stunning floral number from “Spoiled Brat”. At about £23, this is decidedly affordable. You get vintage looks and cute thick straps, with a typical 21st century bikini shape. The best of both worlds, this bargain number is a sexy and busty stunner!

floral retro bikini

Second – this is a vintage style swimsuit. The ruching is quite delightful, and it just screams blond bombshell every lipstick red pore. It’s more expensive at $80, but you can tell the different in quality from the last number.

red vampy vintage swimsuit

Third in my list (completely not in favourite order, I might add) is a stunning nautical number. This is lovely, not to mention darn unusual and great for covering up. For me, this would hide my belly area but show of my back, which is such an unusual style!  If you think you may need to walk the plank this summer, this is the most stylish way to do it!

nautical mod cloth bikini swimsuit

Number four is perfect for breaking yourself into the bikini wearing trend. You don’t have to bear all as you do with the first floral number, as this shape covers up most of your bottom half. Perfect, as long as you don’t mind the tan lines. I love the bows too, a very cute and retro touch.

betty retro swimsuit

Ah the final choice. For these, I though something more traditional and simple would do. Black is always a safe and elegant colour, not to mention one that suits all skin types. This halternecks is soo fifties with it’s retro shape, and the slouchy modest bottom still somehow manage to ooze sexuality. So stepford, yet so harlot!

retro_bikini_black

Comments»

1. dreamsequins - June 5, 2009

I love that bombshell red swimsuit. GORGEOUS, glam. When I go to the beach, I generally do a boring sportstyle bandeau bikini to maximize tanning possibilities. But were I to lounge apres swim, I would want to wear something va va voom like that red one piece!

2. Diana - June 5, 2009

I love that red one with the ruching! I have a feeling that it would be very flattering on most body types.

3. Sophie - June 6, 2009

Love the nautical one and number four, So adorable!

xo
Sophie

4. Jessics - June 7, 2009

Absolutely beautiful, cheerful selection! I’m especially fond of that darling pink two piece! 🙂

Wishing you a wonderful weekend,
♥ Jessica

5. mysterycreature1 - June 7, 2009

Hi Dream – I’m back! So can finally comment back to you all… updates on the hol to follow… the red one is great isn’t it?! I to like to bare all for maximum tanning (although I swear it faded as soon as I got into England…).

Diana – you are totally correct, it would look great on anyone. It’s such an unusual shape too.

Sophie – isn’t it cute – I just want to don a sailor cap and go down to the docks!

Jessica – I love that pink on, and think that interestingly it comes across as the most vintage of the lot. Lovely!

6. nectarfizz - July 16, 2009

The last 2 are my picks.

7. getgoswimwear - April 28, 2010

Just came across your blog … love your posts. Definitely bookmarking you!


Leave a Reply

