jump to navigation

Sunny Turkey Pictures June 9, 2009

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Life, Chatter & Politics, Photos.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Well, as promised, here are some photos of my lovely summer holiday. I can never decide whether posts like this are completely self-indulgent – but since I enjoy seeing people photos, I thought I would give you a snapshot view of sunny skies and turkish attractions.

pammukale

First off, a happy couple photo! That’s Ben, for anyone who hasn’t seen him before! This is the amazing mineralised scenery that is Pammukale, loosely translated as “Cotton Castle” – you can see why. Full of warm thermal waters and plenty of calcium, this was as amazing this time as it was when I visited at a little ‘un. Ooh, and there was a group of tadpoles in one of the pools, and 3 cute kittens (not in a pool, obviously) – this made me very happy and kept me entertained.

pammukale

Beautiful isn’t it?!!

efes

Ephesus was another trip – a super-big ancient city complete with a library – thats the reconstruction in the picture. The place was huge – and very hot. The library, it has been discovered, had a long underground tunnel leading to the brothel. Men, it is assumed, would get a little lovin’ whilst claiming to their significant other an innocent trip to swot up on some scrolls. Classic!

camel beach, turkey

Wahhey! Camels! Need I say more?

cloudy turkish mountains

Finally, a bit of scenery to show the absolute beauty that can befall a hot country hit by rain. Things glow, shimmer, you get bright lights against the deepest bluest clouds. Plus, the air has that fresh damp yet hot feeling – I had never realised before how beautiful this could be.

Has anyone else been on holiday recently?

Comments»

1. najeema - June 9, 2009

WOW, way to make me jealous! I can’t decide what is cooler- the ruins or the camels. Sounds like you had a beautiful vacation.

2. Icy - June 10, 2009

I’ve been to Turkey too!! I have to say, I had the most fun there of any country I’ve visited. Ephesus was my absolute favourite.

3. mysterycreature1 - June 10, 2009

Hi Najeema – the ruins wee more fun – but the camels were great for novelty! it was lovely!

Hi Icy – Efes is lovely isn’t it. So well restored, although they told us needs an astonished further 15o years till it is done!

4. Mint Harvest - June 10, 2009

turkey sounds like fun! Ephesus looks beautiful!

5. nectarfizz - July 16, 2009

You look soo cute in that purple top. I love the photos. WOW.

6. Ephesus Turkey - December 28, 2010

It’s wonderfull…


Leave a Reply

