jump to navigation

A little teary June 10, 2009

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Books, Depression, Media, TV & Film.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Last night I sobbed and gasped my way through the final episode of Sex and the City. I clearly haven’t learnt from my initial viewing which was spent in what I assumed was a hormonal and emotion driven fug! Being that last night I was totally compusmentos before the DVD went in, I can now conclude that this is merely and undesirable but oddly enjoyable consequence of this SATC episode! You should have heard me as I hiccuped out “His name is John!” in awed wonder, and preempted particularly touching bits with cat-like wails and tears in advance!

This crying-fest got me on to thinking about the importance of letting it all out once in a while. This holds particularly true to the female of the species, us gals. Men cry too (in fact, I can disclose that a could of tears escaped Ben last night, although this could just be tears of recognition at the fact that his girlfriend is in fact an insane crying machine!), but it seems to be a more vital part of woman-hood.

I don’t see it as weakness to have a sob at a touching seen, a devastating paragraph or a heart-wrenching soliloquy. Rather, I view this as being in touch with the deepest parts of myself, the bits that feel every emotion as a thousand needles. It is a healthy dose of reality or, equally, a true chance of escapism. Without a good (logical or illogical) cry once in a while, I know I would question my ability to feel.

This is not to say at all that people who don’t dry are emotionless. Instead, I mean that for me, a girl with emotions too close to the surface on occasion, not to cry would mean something more worrying than having a big tear-jerking moment would.

My biggest ever sob inducers? I sense a little list coming on. If anyone needs a good dry to clear the system and unblock emotional dams, then these ones are a sure bet for me!

  • The Notebook – so sad, so happy… there is also a Nickleback and Notebook tribute on Youtube that makes me cry every time!
  • Forrest Gump – the sadness of this comedy always overwhelms me
  • SATC
  • My Sisters Keeper – this book by Jodie Picoult slays me.

Obviously tons more can have this effect – these are the ones that spring to mind though!

Comments»

1. Cello - June 10, 2009

im a 24 year old male and not to be macho but i havent cried at a movie for ages. I remember getting teary eyed at E.T. as a little boy, and Spike Lee’s Crooklyn, and Toy Story 2. Thats about it. 🙂

2. dreamsequins - June 10, 2009

Yeah I LOVE SATC. The TV series, not the movie– let’s get that clear. There were so many tear-inducing moments in that series from the very first episode. They show it all the time on TV here and I find myself watching it over and over. It’s like meditation. Haha

3. mysterycreature1 - June 10, 2009

Hi Cello – I didn’t cry at ET at all, isn’t that odd! I cry at everything, it’s brill!

Hi Dream – the movie was OK, but only becasue fo the TV series if that makes sense. The last episode is especially touching though!

4. annie - June 11, 2009

All I have to say is Black Beauty


Leave a Reply

