jump to navigation

Vintage Collecting June 16, 2009

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Fashion, Inspiration, Thrifting.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

As some of you may have realised, I have a bit of a collection going on. Vintage dresses (how is it I can still have days with “nothing to wear”?) are a major area. More costly, but more addictive, is my collection of shoes. Most of my shoes aren’t vintage, due to my lanky size 7 feet and certain love of all shoes new or old!

I have always wanted to be a collector. I think the influence of an antique dealing and collecting father has made me realise how long the pleasure gained from certain items can last for a long long time. Of course, my first collections didn’t have quite the longevity – stamps bored me, and my “unique” collection of straightened out paper clips just somehow didn’t cut it!

Now, however, I can feel a new collection building. That is, the collection of vintage tights. Currently this isn’t all that extensive… lets just put it this way – clumsy accident prone people probably shouldn’t wear their vintage tights collection! Never mind though, as I am starting to get serious and consider archiving certain pairs. Serious eh?

As always, I no doubt will start with beautiful organised plans, but something will go amock. Even if it does, however, I’m not sure I car. I get so much please out of a perfect and amazing unusual pair of tights, that wearing them (and laddering them) is one of the main pleasures.

Here are some I have my eye on at the moment:

black and yellow vintage tights

Such unusual tights these – I have never seen anything like these. They could be very easily found on the designer catwalk nowadays.

blue tights

Cute and modern – but as with all vintage tights, these are detailed and high quality. Cheap too, at 99p!

vintage lizard motif tights

Finally, these lizard tights. I really enjoy eye-catching unusual patterns, and these garishly packaged tights are just that. I can’t get over how detailed they are – even with tiny sequined eyes!

Comments»

1. Amber - June 16, 2009

Weirdly, those first ones *have* actually been on the catwalk recently (or ones very like them, obviously) – Chanel Fall 09: http://www.vogue.co.uk/news/favourites-of-vogue/080425-chanels-two-tone-tights-.aspx

And now we know where Karl got his inspiration!

2. Rachael - June 17, 2009

I love those chanel tights in the top pic – they’re quite expensive, but I imagine they wouldn’t ladder easily. The Mary Quant ones I would love too – even the packaging. A few years ago I found 3 Mary Quant nail polishes in a charity shop – was quite pleased with myself!!
Yes, I think collecting tights is a great idea – maybe one day you can loan them to the V & A !!!

3. mysterycreature1 - June 18, 2009

Hi Amber – so they have! That somehow makes them cooler, and brilliantly on trned. I always prefer having the original to the new one!

Hi Rachael – all Mary Quannt tights etc are gorgeous – and so exactly representative of the period!

4. T - June 18, 2009

Those tights in the first pic look exactly like the ones from ASOS. See this blog post from Park and Cube …

http://www.parkandcube.com/?p=1662

They’re out of stock from ASOS right now. I managed to nab a pair before they sold out, and unfortunately, they’re not very high quality, but at least they look very snazzy,


Leave a Reply

