jump to navigation

Shoes glorious shoes! Why do we love them so? June 22, 2009

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Fashion.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

You probably know that I love my shoes. After all, I own enough pairs to protect the feet of a small nation – as long as protecting their feet involves cladding them in dangerously high blister inducing heels! Anyway, I thought the time had come to question our strange obsession with the sculpture of the true fashion designers masterpiece – the high heel.

Platforms, wedges, stilettos. Mary Janes, Strappies, Gladiators. The possibilities are truly endless, and new variations are being developed every day. I find myself absorbed by the colours, the styles, the height. Some of my shoes, I haven’t even worn!

So why do we (ah, what a great generalisation!) all seem to love them? Ok, it isn’t everyone – but lots of girls seem to love the feel of a good sculptured sole caressing their tootsies! To top four reasons (in my little eyes!) all follow:

1. The fit:

For me, shoes never fit as a child. I was dragged from city to city (literally) to try on smart black shoe after smart black shoe. I always ended up in the last pair I tried on that just about fit my skinny long feet, and consequently hated shoes for the majority of my childhood. Come teenage years, however, they suddenly fitted – and what a wonder it was! Now, this initial relief has developed into a true passion! On one website, a girl explained how for her, clothes never fitted well. Shoes were always the best way to find something to make you feel good!

Fluvog heels

Fluevog shoes are known for a great comfy fit. These are the best coloured ones!

2. The look:

Forget that they are a fashion item. Regard heels as a piece of art – and a number of mine really are! Distanced from practicality by a number of miles (and a number of trip wires, razorwire, landmines etc…), they often are bought just for their look. Guys who don’t understand – imagine that feeling when you see a girl in a pair of beautiful heels. Sexy, no? That feeling, of something being beautiful – that is one of the real reasons to love shoes! See Queen in Heels for some great shoe art (literally)!

Crystal boots alexander mcqueen

True shoe art– you have to look to the designers for it!

3. The feeling:

Tottering in 6 inch sky scrapers. Feeling the heads turn (boys and girls!) when wearing a great pair. Knowing that your black jeans have suddenly become the best outfit ever worn. The feeling of self confidence and raised self-esteem is a huge reason for girls across the globe to wear heels. In the same way that a loved item of clothing can make us feel protected, so a great pair of heels can be armour against the hardships andthreats of the world. It may seem silly, and perhaps it is – but for me at least, heels can make me feel like a new woman. Sexy, modern, stylish and unbeatable – all from a little heel! Read here for a great summary of the psychological advantages of great heels, for this gal during pregnancy in particular!

sophia cut out shoe topshop

I want these. I think they would look great – and I want them in red!

4. Muscle power:

We have all heard the stories – that high heels make your legs leaner, stronger, and more toned. Walking in these towering beauties is, as any heel-newbie can tell you. When I first stared wearing heels, I had to walk somewhat like John Cleese in order to get anywhere at all without falling over and dying! Honestly, I looked ridiculous! It was soo funny! I have seen other people walking stupidly too, but at least I have got slightly better. And every time I wear them, I can feel it working all up the back of my legs, as all those sets of muscles I never knew I had get to work. Try some dancing in stillettos to see the real effects (not my lazy half decent walking!).

Comments»

1. Kate - June 22, 2009

I can relate about shoes always fitting – no matter what happens to my weight, generally I can always fit into shoes and can get an instant lift by buying a new pair of shoes. Those purple shoes are fabulous!

2. Marilyn K - June 23, 2009

love the blue shoes so much!!! 🙂

3. Diana - June 23, 2009

I’ve been eyeing those purple Fluevogs for awhile. I like how you deconstructed the love of shoes. I’m beginning to realize that there is no such thing as “too many” shoes 🙂

4. Michelle - June 23, 2009

Those purple Fluevogs have been on my drool list for a while. I WILL own them, eventually! I like your list, you make some good points. I think for me, the largest draw towards shoes is that I can’t make them – given ten minutes of time to examine a garment and a notepad/camera I can probably replicate it pretty closely, but I don’t have the means or ability to make shoes. Thus, mystery and attraction. And lots of drool.

5. najeema - June 23, 2009

That blue bootie is gorgeous! I hate to say it, but I usually put style about fit when it comes to picking shoes. And I always pay for it in the end.

6. Red Athletic Shoes - June 24, 2009

[…] Shoes glorious shoes! Why do we love them so? « A Typical Atypical […]

7. mysterycreature1 - June 24, 2009

Ooh I’ve fallen behind in responding!

Hi Kate – Aren’t they wonderful! I agree with the fitting… and even fi they aren’t perfect, I can generally make them fit!

Hi Marilyn – Thanks for stopping by. I love those shoes, they (and a much naughtier pair on eBay) are my current shoe loves!

Hi Diana – your the girl who introduced me to Fluevogs, so I know you’d love them!! Such a bad influence 😛

Hi Michelle – You are so luck to be so talented. My sewing skills are definietly at a beginner level – I dream of being able to do what you can!

Hi Najeema – me too, don’t worry. But wheras you can’t force a pair of trousers to do up if they really don’t fit, you generally can with shoes! That is why I love them!

8. Links a la Mode: June 25 | Independent Fashion Bloggers - June 25, 2009

[…] A Typical Atypical: A deep dive into the reasoning behind shoe obsessions […]

9. Links à la Mode: Ice Cold Lemonade | THE COVETED - June 25, 2009

[…] A Typical Atypical: A deep dive into the reasoning behind shoe obsessions […]

10. Links à la Mode: Ice Cold Lemonade « A Typical Atypical - June 25, 2009

[…] A Typical Atypical: A deep dive into the reasoning behind shoe obsessions […]

11. Link Love: 6.25.09 | Nubbytwiglet.com - June 25, 2009

[…] • A Typical Atypical tries to figure out why we’re so obsessed with shoes. […]

12. Doe Deere - June 25, 2009

AMEN sister! I love love love shoes and think you pin-pointed exactly why we, women, are so obsessed with them. 😀

13. Links à la Mode: Ice Cold Lemonade | Bonne Vie - June 25, 2009

[…] A Typical Atypical: A deep dive into the reasoning behind shoe obsessions […]

14. Tatiana Supports the Arts - Links à la Mode, or: Thursday Inspiration - June 25, 2009

[…] A Typical Atypical: A deep dive into the reasoning behind shoe obsessions […]

15. mysterycreature1 - June 25, 2009

Hey Doe. You know, I had a star stuck moment when you commented, isn’t that sad! It was the same as when Nubby mentioned me. Hmm, I perhaps ought to go get a grip…

anyways, most girls seem to have exactly the same reasons. Or exactly the same excuses. It seems us shoe lovers are all pretty alike, underneath!

16. Sam - June 26, 2009

ALSO
You will never feel fat in a pair of heels.
They are easy to try on. (No dressing rooms)
Always the same size.
Just so much less discouraging than trying on clothes.

17. Style Symmetry » Links à la Mode: IFB Weekly Roundup - June 26, 2009

[…] A Typical Atypical: A deep dive into the reasoning behind shoe obsessions […]

18. Links à la Mode – - June 27, 2009

[…] A Typical Atypical: A deep dive into the reasoning behind shoe obsessions […]

19. John Fashion Shoes - June 27, 2009

[…] Shoes glorious shoes! Why do we love them so? « A Typical Atypical […]

20. WorkChic.com Blog » Blog Archive » Links à la Mode: June 25th Edition - June 27, 2009

[…] A Typical Atypical: A deep dive into the reasoning behind shoe obsessions […]

21. Super Kawaii Mama » Blog Archive » Dear Weekend 27.06.09 - June 27, 2009

[…] A Typical Atypical: A deep dive into the reasoning behind shoe obsessions […]

22. Links a la Mode - June 27, 2009

[…] A Typical Atypical: A deep dive into the reasoning behind shoe obsessions […]

23. Links a la Mode: Ice Cold Lemonade - June 27, 2009

[…] A Typical Atypical: A deep dive into the reasoning behind shoe obsessions […]

24. Links à la Mode | 39thandbroadway.com - June 28, 2009

[…] A Typical Atypical: A deep dive into the reasoning behind shoe obsessions […]

25. Idiosyncratic Style» Blog Archive » IFB’s Links a La Mode - June 29, 2009

[…] A Typical Atypical: The reasoning behind shoe obsessions […]

26. Sharon - July 2, 2009

I am with you on how high heels are pieces of art for the feet. I am sometimes rendered breathless by the beauty of them.

When I put on a pair of high heels, my inner goddess emerges.

Thanks for the shout out.

27. Dan - September 19, 2009

Just stumbled across this article googling why women are so obsessed with shoes. Yours is definitely the best explanation for an unenlightened male- the normal explanation I get is: ‘Because…’
Geez though, even after cracking the mysterious female code, it still doesn’t make any sense!! My first response to seeing those heels (particulary the black boot) is that they would make good hand-to-hand combat weapons, that is my MALE perspective on shoes lol

28. Links à la Mode: Ice Cold Lemonade : Awakened Aesthetic - December 10, 2009

[…] A Typical Atypical: A deep dive into the reasoning behind shoe obsessions […]

29. Shoes, my love… « A Typical Atypical - June 17, 2010

[…] have looked before at quite why shoes make me so happy. There are so many reasons – the elongation of my legs, the fact that shoes never used to fit […]

30. Clarks Shoes For Women - November 26, 2010

yeah the blue shoes so nice.very nice post


Leave a Reply

