jump to navigation

Modern life – Trials and Tribulations August 26, 2009

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Life, Chatter & Politics, Rants.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Has anyone noticed that life is a busy and complicated business at the moment? Of course you have noticed! On the TV, radio, on the Internet – everwhere I look people are starting realise just how crazy their lives are and how much time is spent on so many different things.

My life is fast becoming just as manic as the tabloids and scaremongers would like us to believe. Think about it – I work full time, 9-5, 5 days a week. I then write my blog, which I try to do daily, tricking myself into believing people would miss me if I was gone! On top of this I write a pro-blogger post, and supplement this with other freelance. Currently I am working on an assignment is which I need to write 46 posts in 2 weeks.

In addition to coming home from work and, well, working, I am also trying to find the perfect CIM professional marketing certificate course for me. As none near me have been free for months, I have decided to do a distance learning course rather than spend £9 a week getting to and from the course in Bourneville. I need to sign up for this, and then come late September I will be adding this work to my evening agenda. I am also moving house in September, and fretting about replacing my sofa which is falling apart.

You know what though? Life is manic and absurd – but I am not complaining. This week I have come home and written 6 articles a night – and I have really enjoyed it. There are some days when you just want to do nothing – but for me the busier I am the more vilified I feel. The more I feel that I am not wasting my life, that I am building experience, that I am keeping myself occupied.

What I do wish, however? Is that I had more time to do  things that don’t fit into the busy and difficult agenda – like shopping, or reading books, or reading other peoples blogs. I would like to figure out just a little bit of wiggle room.

For now, it ain’t going to happen. Meaning I haven’t read Kite Runner again for my book club meeting tonight. But perhaps, if I try hard and watch less television… perhaps then I will.

Comments»

1. Caroline - August 26, 2009

In fairness, you didn’t get Kiterunner back from me until 2 weeks ago…

Blame me – I’ve got broad shouders! 😀

Know exactly what you mean about life though. I have a to-do list as long as my arm and ended up crying to my Mum on the phone last night about not having time to do everything, needing some time away from work and maybe having to cut off some of my friends for a while just to give me chance to catch up with myself. I spend a lot of time agony aunting at the moment and have none left to sort my own world out.

Have to say, the macbook situ? Not helping 😦


Leave a Reply

