jump to navigation

Getting an Educations August 27, 2009

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Inspiration, Life, Chatter & Politics.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Well this is it. I am officially enrolled on my CIM course. After a year out, I am back in education – and it is a very odd feeling!

So, in the next couple of weeks I go back to school! I am looking forward to the mental stimulation, as working full-time is a very different learning curve to sitting down and being taught directly.

With all the A level and GCSE results going on up and done the country at this time of year, education is a topic high on everyone’s agendas. Are people leaving school knowing enough? Are people leaving school thinking they know too much? When should we be taught languages? What subjects should be compulsory? It really is a minefield of passionate opinions, personal worries and big decisions. The main problem is that everyone has different experiences of the school environment – and what works for one person really doesn’t work for another.

Personally, I was a bit of a geek. A lucky geek, with a pretty sharp brain. Hard to believe, I know! Throughout school I was always pretty capable – I read from a very young age, liked learning, and enjoyed the whole education process. I was also the annoying type of student who tended to skive off assignments and homework for the majority of the year, and then swot to very good effect in the weeks leading up to exams. Thanks to a good memory and a commitment to getting coursework done even whilst skiving homework, I got pretty good grades!

Some of my friends (and often the brightest wittiest friends I had) simply weren’t academic. And here is where the education falls down, in my humble opinion. Every can and should be able to go to uni – but they ought to encourage the vocational side just as much. It takes all types to build this world, and education is only one tiny bit of it!

Politics and education aside, here are some funky back to school Etsy items. As back to school is the stationary event of the year, it deserves some honouring!

piglets love pencils back to school pencil case

First – a super cool “Piglets love pencils” back to school pencil case!

Elusive fluency back to school pencils

Secondly – these fabulous pencil’s with a twist, celebrating the lack of fluency translating into foreign languages! Perfect back to school quirkiness!

Comments»

1. Kate - August 27, 2009

Ooooh lovely stationery! I love the pencils!


Leave a Reply

