jump to navigation

The thing about pants… September 3, 2009

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Fashion, Life, Chatter & Politics.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

What a way to start a post, eh? Straight in with the underwear talk! And what are you wearing today then? Ok, so that is probably taking it a little too far – but this is going to be a post about underwear and I don’t want to hide it from you, only for it to jump up and bite you in your (underwear clad) arse at the end!

The thing about pants, you see, is that they are undervalued. I can’t be the only one who gets from day-to-day with horrible underwear – grey limp oldies nestled amongst cheap holey pairs, and even pretty lace examples that have seen better days. I have a few sets of pretty underwear – but even they were looking a little faded and sorry for themselves.

Because I believe that underwear can set you up for the day ahead, I decided to make a move. To make a stand for underwear around the world, if you will. I have had an underwear purge! It was scary, it wasn’t pretty… but now it is done I feel a million times better.

You know what I did? I threw it all out. With the exception of one bra and my super stretchy skinnifying pants, I chucked it all! I then went out to the sales, and bought three new, perfect fitting bras. One was from M&S, the other 2 from House of Fraser – and all were in the sale. Knickers-wise, I tripped to La Senza – and bought 10 neat pairs of smart whites, smart blacks, with a couple of colours thrown in. Nothing garish, this is me growing up!

Now, I have the perfect amount to tide me over between washes, my draw is organised, and I feel lovely! Simple!

Comments»

1. Nikki - September 3, 2009

I reeeeeeally need to do this. My underwear drawer is shockingly unorganised and I swear half of my bras have the underwires are poking out. Dangerous.

2. Caroline - September 3, 2009

I’m feeling the crappy underwear vibe too. I cashed in some of my survey vouchers for M&S vouchers and went to hit the sales – only to find that there was nothing either in Leamington or Stafford in my bra size! And not just in sale items – I’m talking across the store! I’m one of those broad back small cup people that are never catered for. 😦

3. Lauren Cooke - September 3, 2009

Hi Nikki – It was suprisingly refreshing, to be really harsh and REALLY efficient! I’m so glad I did it!

Cie – I know, it isn’t fair is it? I was suprsied they had stuff for me in the sale, as I am the opposite – the most common size you can possibly get. Did you try House of Fraser?

4. Angel - September 3, 2009

I’m going to do that in November… When I pop over to the UK for a holiday.

5. Diana - September 4, 2009

I think underwear really should be purged more often than it is. Most women would never wear a shirt with holes in it, so why would they wear holey underwear? And way to go for buying well-fitted bras – that’s the best investment you can make.


Leave a Reply

